Research Guides: WR122 Beal: Find resources: Library databases

Interlibrary loan - get articles for free

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Find background info - Reliable, not scholarly

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is a great place to begin research on contemporary topics. Written by journalists, CQ Researcher reports include a topic overview background, data tables, images, opposing viewpoints and bibliographies. Topics include health, criminal justice, the environment, technology, social issues, international news, education, the economy, and more.
How to search CQ Researcher

Find scholarly articles

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Make sure to choose "academic journals" in order to get scholarly articles.

Filter to the right topic/subject database

This tip will help you find an article in our topic-specific EBSCO and/or Gale databases. If we don't have your exact topic, choose the closest related subject, or use the databases Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete.

Filter to the right topic/subject database

Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
Select the dropdown menu All Subjects
Select your subject from the list
The resulting list of databases will be specialized to your subject. Look for those that say Best Bet.
- Bonus: Limit the databases to those that have professional, peer-reviewed journals by also using the All Database Types dropdown menu.

Off-campus access

Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.

Go to CCC Library's homepage.
Select Articles, eBooks, and Databases under Research tools.
Select a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete).
Log in using your full myClackamas email address and password.
Select Submit.
Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.

Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6042 or use our 24/7 chat tool for help.