Research Guides: HDF247 Hendricks: HDF-specific databases

Request articles, book chapters, and books through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Background info & definitions of terms

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)

HDF-specific article databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale database. Full-text access to academic journals, reports, and reference sources that focus on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database. Provides access to citations, abstracts, and some full text of scholarly journal articles, magazines, trade publications, and other education-related materials like lesson plans and classroom guides. If available, links to full text are included. To get the full text of ERIC articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Psychology (Gale OneFile) include newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
How to search Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes more than 530 full-text academic journals. Topics include psychiatry, psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, and experimental methods.
How to search Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Double check if the article is "peer-reviewed"

When you restrict an EBSCO or Gale search to bring back only items published in peer-reviewed journals, those results will still contain editorial and opinion pieces, book reviews, news blurbs, and other types of short, non-scholarly articles. These types of articles appear in peer-reviewed publications but are not always acceptable for academic research. Yikes! Always evaluate your sources before including them in your research.

And remember - a 10-20 page article is normal, and ideal for this assignment. Because you are critically evaluating this professional article, you need something with length and substance!