Research Guides: CLA101, 102, 103 Braught: Medical encyclopedias

Medical encyclopedias

Medical encyclopedias are great places to get background and introductory information about diseases like symptoms, diagnoses, and treatments.

Gale eBooks / Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) provides online access to many medical encyclopedias. Sign into GVRL and select "Medicine" from the list on the left.
Highlighted titles include:
  - Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease (2003)
  - Environmental Health in the 21st Century: From Air Pollution to Zoonotic Diseases (2018)
  - Examining the Causal Relationship Between Genes, Epigenetics, and Human Health (2019)
  - Gale Enciclopedia de la Medicina (2018)
  - Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (2014)
  - Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders (2016)
  - Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (2015)
  - Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (2018)
  - Health and Medicine through History: From Ancient Practices to 21st-Century Innovations (2019)
  - Human Diseases and Conditions (2017)
  - Immunotoxicology, Immunopathology, and Immunotherapy (2018)
  - Infectious Diseases (2018)
  - Human Diseases and Conditions (2017)
  - Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues (2016)

Search within a specific encyclopedia

1. Select the title of a medical encyclopedia.
2. To search for your topic within this specific book, use the SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION search box located on the upper right-hand side of the page.