Skip to Main Content

CLA101, 102, 103 Braught

This Course Guide will help you find credible information in library databases on the symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, history and epidemiology of a disease.

Books/eBooks are good for history!

"The history of..." is often the most difficult aspect of diseases to find.

If you've tried GVRL, if you've tried PubMed, and you're still coming up with nothing, try CCC Library's Catalog. Search through our print and eBook collection. Find a whole book on the disease - there likely will be a chapter on its history!

Protip: While CCC Library is closed due to COVID, our library catalog prioritizes eBooks for you. Choose "CCC Library" from the dropdown menu to see eBooks only (no articles).

Screenshot of a CCC Library catalog search for (Hepatitis B history)

Search everything in CCC Library's catalog

 

Search for items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases.

Search for items at CCC Library and Summit Libraries, which can be received in 2-5 days.

Books, eBooks, videos, and other items at CCC Library.

Course specific text books and materials that your instructor has put on reserve for your class.

 

How to search everything

This search tool is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

  1. Enter your search terms.
    Screebshot of a basic search - "hip hop" AND politics.
  2. Select Search.
  3. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
    CCC Library users sign in for request options (and to save items to your folder)
  4. Refine your results by Availability:
    Primo Availability refining tool.
    • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
    • Available at CCC - limit to print books in our collection
    • CCC Online Resources - resources you can access online
  5. Refine your results by Resource Type:
    Primo Resource Type refining tool.
    • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
    • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
  6. Access the full text of each resource.
    Primo search results showing online article, eBook, and print book results with full-text access options and citation, email, and folder options
  7. Select the title of a resource to learn more about it.
    screenshot showing an eBook titled Historians on Hamilton
    • The resource's record appears, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu