Research Guides: HDF260 Furno: HDF-specific databases

Get full text of articles for free!

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. Questions? Contact Jorge Avila Ayala, 503-594-6323.

Background info & definitions of terms

Gale eBooks / Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Gale eBooks is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search Gale eBooks

HDF-specific article databases

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) offers academic journals and magazines on all things criminal justice, including criminology, criminal law and corrections, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
How to search Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Psychology (Gale OneFile) include newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
How to search Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes more than 530 full-text academic journals. Topics include psychiatry, psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, and experimental methods.
How to search Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
How to search Academic Search Complete
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile offers newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Many articles are available in full-text. Subject coverage is comprehensive and includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
How to search Academic OneFile

Off-campus access

Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.

Go to CCC Library's homepage.
Select Articles and A-Z databases under Research tools.
Select a database (e.g., EBSCO eBooks).
Log in using your full myClackamas email address and password.
Select Submit.
Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.

Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6323 or 503-594-6042 for help.

Double check if the article is "peer-reviewed"

When you restrict an EBSCO or Gale search to bring back only items published in peer-reviewed journals, those results will still contain editorial and opinion pieces, book reviews, news blurbs, and other types of short, non-scholarly articles. These types of articles appear in peer-reviewed publications but are not always acceptable for academic research. Yikes! Always evaluate your sources before including them in your research.

And remember - a 10-20 page article is normal, and ideal for this assignment. Because you are critically evaluating this professional article, you need something with length and substance!