WR122 Wickert (F2F)

How to search everything

This search tool is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

1. Enter your search terms.
   
2. Select Search.
3. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
   
4. Refine your results by Availability:
   
   • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
   • Available at CCC - limit to print books in our collection
   • CCC Online Resources - resources you can access online
5. Refine your results by Resource Type:
   
   • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
   • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
6. Access the full text of each resource.
   
7. Select the title of a resource to learn more about it.
   
   • The resource's record appears, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

You are tasked with finding "a professional article that’s interesting to you, from an academic field you’re interested in." This guide will help you browse for an article in our field-specific EBSCO and/or Gale databases. If we don't have your exact field, choose the closest related field, or use the databases Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete.

Filter to the right field database

1. Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
2. Select the dropdown menu All Subjects ("subject" here means the same thing as academic field).
3. Select your field from the list.
4. The resulting list of databases will be specialized to your field of interest. Look for those databases that say Best Bet.
   • Bonus: Limit the databases to those that have professional, peer-reviewed journals by also using the All Database Types dropdown menu; select Scholarly/Academic Journals.

If you know the topic for which you want to search, you'll search for it more directly.

Search for an article in EBSCO

EBSCO databases include Academic Search Complete, Art Source, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Religion & Philosophy Collection.

1. Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
2. Select an EBSCO database.
3. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in an EBSCO database.
4. Look at the left-hand column on your results page.
5. Find the section titled Limit To.
6. Mark the box labeled Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
7. Wait for the page to refresh.
8. Voila! All search results come from peer-reviewed journals.

Search for an article in Gale

Gale databases include Academic OneFile, Communications and Mass Media Collection, Criminal Justice Collection, Environmental Studies and Policy Collection, Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection, and many more.

1. Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
2. Select a Gale database.
3. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in a Gale database.
4. Look at the right-hand column on your results page.
5. Find the section titled Limit Search by.
6. Mark the box labeled Peer Reviewed Journals.
7. Wait for the page to refresh.
8. Voila! All search results come from peer-reviewed journals.

When you restrict an EBSCO or Gale search to bring back only items published in peer-reviewed journals, those results will still contain editorial and opinion pieces, book reviews, news blurbs, and other types of short, non-scholarly articles. These types of articles appear in peer-reviewed publications but are not always acceptable for academic research. Yikes! Always evaluate your sources before including them in your research.

And remember - a 10-20 page article is normal, and ideal for this assignment. Because you are critically examining this professional article, you need something with length and substance!