Research Guides: WR121 Donnelly: Get articles (Essay 1)

Article databases for Essay 1

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
GVRL has subject encyclopedias - encyclopedias which are devoted to a specific subject or field of study. You'll find volumes like Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development and Encyclopedia of Mental Health. Great source for background and overview articles about all topics related to mental health.
Psychology (Gale)
Here's another psychology-specific database with many magazine and news articles. It also has meaty peer-reviewed research articles. Limit to the types of article you want on the left-hand side of the search results page.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
This psychology-specific database primarily offers peer-reviewed journal articles, but there are psychology-specific magazines in here, too. Limit to the types of article you want on the right-hand side of the search results page.

Newspaper articles

News (Gale)
Extra! Extra! Get your newspapers here! Search over 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Note - this databases does not have online access to the Oregonian.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Extra! Extra! Get even more newspapers here! But this database only has ~300 major U.S. regional and national newspapers.

Sources for statistics

Governmental agencies and organizations share a lot of statistics - use Google to find them. The three most useful Google searching tips for finding statistics are:

Include statistics as your first search term.
Use quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
Use site:. to retrieve webpages from URLs in the domain (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify.

Sample searches could include:

statistics "opiates OR heroin" addiction Oregon OR Portland site:.gov
statistics anxiety "community college" students site:.gov

NAMI: National Alliance on Mental Illness
"NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness." Note: This is a .org website.
NIMH: National Institute of Mental Health
"The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)."
CDC: Center for Disease Control - Mental Health
"Information on access to mental health and mental illness (MH/MI) surveillance data sources is provided on various MH/MI topics. Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS). Relevant statistics are also presented." Note, this website is archived for historical purposes and is no longer being maintained or updated (Jan. 2018).
SAMHSA: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities."