Skip to Main Content

GRN181 Niro

Free library resources and support for your Annotated Bibliography Assignment.

Request articles and book chapters through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Option 1: Gerontology journals online

CCC Library has online access to several peer-reviewed gerontology journals. Select the journal title to be taken to a log in page. You can browse journal issues or search with keywords within the entire journal's run. (Embargo means the release of the newest article full text is delayed. Try out Interlibrary Loan, linked above, to access the full text of embargoed articles.)

Option 2: Databases

You are tasked with finding a peer-reviewed pure research article published within the last 6 years in the the field of gerontology.

Filter to the right field/subject database

  1. Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
  2. Select the dropdown menu All Subjects
  3. Select your subject from the list (Gerontology)
  4. The resulting list of databases will be specialized to your subject. Look for those that say Best Bet.
    • Bonus: Limit the databases to those that have professional, peer-reviewed journals by also using the All Database Types dropdown menu.
    • These databases are also listed on the side bar for you.

A-Z Databases subject dropdown menu and database type menu

EBSCO: Limit to peer-reviewed, new, pure research articles

  1. EBSCO logo.Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
  2. Select an EBSCO database.
  3. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in an EBSCO database.
    • To find pure research articles, make the last search box exclude certain types of research articles. Change the AND dropdown to NOT and type in ("systematic review" OR meta-analysis)
  4. Look at the left-hand column on your results page.
  5. Find the section titled Limit To.
  6. Mark the box labeled Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
    • Wait for the page to refresh.
  7. Change the Publication Date range to 2014 - 2020.
    • Wait for the page to refresh.
  8. Voila! All search results come from recent, original peer-reviewed research journals.

EBSCO search using NOT Boolean operator

Gale: Limit to peer-reviewed, new, pure research articles

  1. Gale logo.Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
  2. Select a Gale database.
  3. Select Advanced Search.
  4. Create a search using topic-related search terms in a Gale database. Don't hit Search yet!
    • To find pure research articles, make the last search box exclude certain types of research articles. Change the AND dropdown to NOT and type in ("systematic review" OR meta-analysis)
  5. Find the section titled MORE OPTIONS.
    • Mark the box labeled Peer Reviewed Journals.
    • Find the heading by publication date(s); select After; select 01 January 2014
  6. Select Search.
  7. Voila! All search results come from recent, original peer-reviewed research journals.

Gale search using Boolean NOT and date limiter.

CCC Library catalog: Limit to peer-reviewed articles

  1. Go to CCC Library's homepage.
  2. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in the CCC Library catalog search box.
  3. Select Search.
  4. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
  5. Find the section titles Availability
    Primo Availability refining tool.
  6. Select the Peer-reviewed journals link.
    Link to limit to Peer-reviewed journals.
  7. Wait for the page to refresh.
  8. Voila! All search results come from peer-reviewed journals.

Step 3: Double check the article

When you restrict an EBSCO or Gale search to bring back only items published in peer-reviewed journals, those results will still contain editorial and opinion pieces, book reviews, news blurbs, and other types of short, non-scholarly articles. These types of articles appear in peer-reviewed publications but are not always acceptable for academic research. Yikes! Always evaluate your sources before including them in your research.

And remember - a 10-20 page article is normal, and ideal for this assignment. Because you are critically examining this professional article, you need something with length and substance!

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu