WR227 Amy Warren

1. Start big.

   1. Start your searches with the most important idea. If you get a lot of search results, you can add in more search terms. Adding more terms means you'll get fewer search results.
   2. If you get very few search results, you know you've either searched with the wrong word, or there isn't a lot available on your topic.

2. Use quotation marks.

   1. Use quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.

3. Try, and try again.

   1. Searching is both a process and a result. Finding information isn't a one-and-done exercise. It is a process where you try something, assess what you found, and make changes and improvements. Each change means you'll find new information.
   2. As you learn more about your topic, you will need to search more for new information.
   3. Search in multiple places. That means trying different library databases (we have over 90), the library catalog, and Google.

CCC Library has a variety of databases and search tools that offer you free, high-quality, academic information. Start here. Or try Google, then come back here when you get stuck. ;-)

• CCC Library Catalog
  • CCC Library: books, eBooks, videos, and other items at CCC Library
  • CCC + Summit: books, eBooks, videos, and other items available at CCC Library and 38 Summit libraries
  • CCC + Summit + Articles: books, eBooks, videos, and other items at CCC Library and 38 Summit libraries, and a sizable portion of CCC Library's article databases
• Databases A-Z list
  • articles, eBooks, streaming videos from CCC Library's individual databases, including EBSCO
• Subject Guides
  • lists of subject-specific databases that are unique to your topic (e.g., Nursing)

This search tool is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

1. Enter your search terms.

1. Select Search.
2. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.

1. Refine your results by Availability:
   
   • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
   • Available at CCC - limit to print books in our collection
   • CCC Online Resources - resources you can access online
2. Refine your results by Resource Type:
   
   • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
   • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
3. Access the full text of each resource.
   
4. Click on the title of a resource to learn more about it.
   • The resource's record will appear, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

Use these tips when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

1. Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
   
2. Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
   

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!