Research Guides: WR121 Crumrine: Databases (focused topic)

General, narrow, and focused topics

The next step of your assignment is to research your chosen topic further by studying sources other than Life with the goal of writing an informative research paper about the topic. As you start your research, you will need to:

Search for resources on your general topic.

Read and learn a bit. Ask yourself "what do I want to know about XYZ?"
Search again, but this time, use more search terms that reflect your narrowed topic.

Through this second round of more targeted searching, you should see resources relevant to your narrowed topic. But perhaps not specific enough to your historical time frame.
Do one more round of very targeted, intentional searching to find resources about your focused historical topic.

Find articles on your focused topic

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context contains encyclopedias, magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, audio clips, and a wealth of primary source documents chronicling United States’ history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
How to search U.S. History (Gale in Context)
New York Times & New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
New York Times: Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews & opinion on Washington, business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more. Access historical New York Times content using the TimesMachine: full text cover-to-cover scans of the US's "newspaper of record" from its 1851 first issue to 2002.

First time user: To access to content, you need to first register for an NYT account.
   1. Use the database name link above.
   2. Select Create Account and complete the registration fields. Sign up with your CCC email address.
   3. You will receive a confirmation email.
   4. Follow the provided link to verify your email. If you do not receive an email, using your CCC email account, send an email to edu@nytimes.com with the subject line “Academic Pass - no verification email”. They will resend the email to you.
   5. Once registered, you may access NYTimes.com and NYT mobile apps from any location on any web-enabled device. (Registration may take a few minutes to process. If you can’t sign in, wait a few minutes and try again.)

Returning User:
   1. Select the database name linked above.
   2. Select Log In.
   3. Log in with your CCC email address and password.
   4. Select "Go to NYTimes.com"

Note: Site passes will expire after 365 days. To renew, you will have to activate a new pass using the database link above. Set a calendar reminder for yourself!
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand contains both current events and archived historical journalism. Search over 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading international titles. It does not include The Oregonian - for access to the Oregonian please see a librarian.
How to search News (Gale OneFile)

Off-campus access

Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.

Go to CCC Library's homepage.
Select Articles, eBooks, and Databases under Research tools.
Select a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete).
Log in using your full myClackamas email address and password.
Select Submit.
Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.

Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6042 or use our 24/7 chat tool for help.