These two library databases are great for finding information "for" or "against" a topic. Use your information evaluation skills to make sure the information shared is credible and reliable enough for your college essay!
Begin your research on hot topics and current events here. Opposing Viewpoints (OV) offers "viewpoint articles" and opinion pieces that provide multiple perspectives on issues. Additional coverage includes magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles.
A great place to begin research on contemporary topics. Reports are written by journalists and fact checked. They include a topic overview and background, current situations, pro and con viewpoints, images, and timelines.
Contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. This alternative to Wikipedia is a great place to start your research.
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
A Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations, technical reports). To get free full text, link your Google Scholar account to CCC Library.
Find popular sources here. Access over 9,000 magazines, reference books and primary source documents, and an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Includes “the most searched magazines" focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.
Contains both current events and archived historical journalism.
Includes news articles from 300 regional U.S. newspapers, 40 international newspapers, and U.S. and international newswires.
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews and editorials on national and international business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more. Access historical New York Times content using the TimesMachine. Includes access to Cooking, Wirecutter, and The Learning Network. Requires a user account tied to your CCC email address.
**First time users: Sign up for a free account to access the New York Times
Check out Ologies, Hidden Brain, Radiolab, The Takeaway, OPB’s Here and Now, Medium, Freakonomics, Stuff You Should Know, Reply All, This American Life, Science Versus, and TED Radio Hour.
Go to your favorite podcast app and browse for these, and more!
FoD offers thousands of streaming videos online. It's like an academic version of your favorite streaming service. Subjects include art, biology, careers & job searching, criminal justice, CTE, history, mathematics, science, technology, and world languages.
A multidisciplinary collection of on-demand videos, including subject areas like anthropology, business, counseling, health, history, music, and more. Make video clips and build playlists.
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. 