ESL046 (Editing for Better Writing)

Print books can be checked out from CCC Library for six weeks.

Come to CCC Library and pick out books. You can also look in our library catalog to find books. Use the link below.

If you can't find what you are looking for, email us at reference@clackamas.edu and ask for help finding and requesting print books. Let us know what you are interested in, and what class you are in, and what level you read at (example. Level 2 and 3). We will gladly help you find something fun to read!

This is a free service.

CCC Library has over 700 books for adult English Language Learners.

These books are organized according to reading level, starting at Level 1 / yellow (easiest) and ending at Level 6 / black (hardest).

The Leveled Reader Collection is located in the lower part of CCC Library, in the Library Living Room area in front-facing bookshelves.

Remember the Five Finger Rule: If you open a book to a page and don't understand five words on that page, it may be too challenging for you to read at this time. Try again after you have practiced, and in the meantime, we have books for every reading level!

Take your Leveled Reader home! You can check out books (we call this "borrowing") from CCC Library. To check your book(s) out, bring them to the Circulation Services desk. Bring a picture ID card. You can keep your book(s) for six weeks.

Non-fiction Young Adult (Lexile) books are print books that are written at levels beyond the Leveled Reader collection. Non-fiction books are based on facts. Topics might be science, current events, history, biographies (books about real people), or how-to books.

If you find you are no longer challenged by reading Level 6 / black books in the Leveled Reader collection and you like reading true stories and biographies, check out our Non-fiction Lexile books!

• Our Non-fiction Lexile books are located next to the Leveled Reader collection.
• Young Adult books are written with a "voice" reflects young adults' experiences. Voice includes point of view, vocabulary, and tone.
• Young Adult books explore themes in ways reflective of young adults' experiences.
• Young Adult books are marked with Lexile numbers. A Lexile number is a rating for how hard a book is to read. The higher the number, the more complex the word use and sentence length. CCC Library's Lexile books have stickers with numbers between 500 (easier) and 1100 (harder).

Young Adult fiction books are print books that are written at levels beyond the Leveled Reader collection.

If you find you are no longer challenged by reading Level 6 / black books in the Leveled Reader collection, it is time to move to the next level: our Young Adult collection!  Young Adult books:

• Are written for a target audience of 13-18 year olds, but everyone can enjoy Young Adult books!
• Have at least one main character who is a teenager.
• Are written with a "voice" reflects young adults' experiences. Voice includes point of view, vocabulary, and tone.
• Explore themes in ways reflective of young adults' experiences.
• Found in their own sections in Public Libraries and bookstores.
• Young Adult books are marked with Lexile numbers. A Lexile number is a rating for how hard a book is to read. The higher the number, the more complex the word use and sentence length. CCC Library's Lexile books have stickers with numbers between 500 (easier) and 1100 (harder).

Select the link below to learn more about our Young Adult collection and find titles by topic and reading level.