These databases are multi-disciplinary and cover a wide range of topics. They are a great starting place for many research assignments.
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
CCC students, faculty, staff, and community borrowers in need of books, articles, or other materials not available at CCC Library or through Summit Libraries can request those items from another library that participates in the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) program. Loan periods may be shorter than for our own materials, and renewals may or may not be possible. ILL is a free service.
All article requests should be submitted through ILL.
To request an article, first double-check that the article is not available from another database. The CCC Library Catalog is a good place to check!
Once you have determined it is not available at CCC, please fill out our Interlibrary Loan form (below) or contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu. Articles will be emailed to you within 3 - 10 business days. Include the following information:
To request a book, first double-check that the book is not available from a Summit library (use the search box on this page). If it is not (or if you are a community borrower), please contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu. ILL books arrive in 7-10 business days. Include the book title, author, publication date, and ISBN (if possible).
You may also stop by the library to fill out a paper request form.
Theses databases are good options when you are looking for information on different sides of the same topic. They are also good to explore if you aren't sure what you want to research.
A great place to begin research on contemporary topics. Reports are written by journalists and fact checked. They include a topic overview and background, current situations, pro and con viewpoints, images, and timelines.
Begin your research on hot topics and current events here. Opposing Viewpoints (OV) offers "viewpoint articles" and opinion pieces that provide multiple perspectives on issues. Additional coverage includes magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles.
If you can't find what you need in the databases above, or if your topic is related to a specific subject, check out the databases below to find articles. Remember - if you can't find what you are looking for, talk to us in the library!
Includes articles and images from scholarly and popular journals, and select eBooks. Subjects covered include advertising, architecture, art history, computers in art, fashion design, folk art, graphic design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, photography, and fine, decorative and commercial art.
Full-text scholarly journal and magazine articles exploring global cultural differences and influences related to gender, ethnicity, and race.
Contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. This alternative to Wikipedia is a great place to start your research.
Provides scholarly journal and magazine articles on the disciplines of gender and queer studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Offers popular and scholarly journals covering all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of significant people, events, places and topics in world history.
If none of the above are what you need, you may want to talk to a librarian. If you are content exploring on your own, we have even more databases. Use the instructions below to find the best ones for your topic.
This tip will help you find an article in our topic-specific EBSCO and/or Gale databases. If we don't have your exact topic, choose the closest related subject, or use the databases Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete.
Filter to the right topic/subject database
Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042 | reference@clackamas.edu | Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours | Moodle | myClackamas | FAQ
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu