Skip to main content

WRD098 Amy Warren

A class guide for Amy Warren's WRD 098 class.

What is a catalog?

The search tool on CCC Library's homepage that searches (nearly) everything available in CCC Library. 

Why would you use the library catalog?

If you're striking out in the databases, perhaps you need to widen your lens. If you're at the start of research, perhaps you want a more comprehensive view of what's available. If you're not sure what subjects your topic fits in, the catalog can help you discover more about your topic. 

  • Pros: You get a wide view of what may be available on your topic. You can use limiters to narrow your search here. It's a good place to hone your keywords.
  • Cons: Because you're searching everything at once, you are going to get a large number of results. This means you'll spend more time refining and narrowing to get relevant results on your topic.

Note: You can change the search scope to include CCC + Summit + Articles, CCC + Summit, CCC Library, or Course Reserves.

What is Summit? 

CCC Library shares our catalog with 37 other Summit libraries, which means you can request books and other items from another nearby college and have it sent to CCC Library to pick up! It is free, and takes between 2-5 days to arrive. This page will tell you more about requesting Summit items.

Search the CCC Library catalog for books, articles, and more

 

Search for items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases.

Search for items at CCC Library and Summit Libraries, which can be received in 2-5 days.

Books, eBooks, videos, and other items at CCC Library.

Course specific text books and materials that your instructor has put on reserve for your class.

 

How to search everything

This search tool is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

  1. Enter your search terms.
    Screebshot of a basic search - "hip hop" AND politics.
  2. Select Search.
  3. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
    CCC Library users sign in for request options (and to save items to your folder)
  4. Refine your results by Availability:
    Primo Availability refining tool.
    • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
    • Available at CCC - limit to print books in our collection
    • CCC Online Resources - resources you can access online
  5. Refine your results by Resource Type:
    Primo Resource Type refining tool.
    • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
    • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
  6. Access the full text of each resource.
    Primo search results showing online article, eBook, and print book results with full-text access options and citation, email, and folder options
  7. Select the title of a resource to learn more about it.
    screenshot showing an eBook titled Historians on Hamilton
    • The resource's record appears, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu