PHL205 Bailey

CCC Library's catalog is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

1. Enter your search terms.
   
2. Select Search.
3. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
   
4. Refine your results by Availability (note: only apply one filter at a time. Adding 2 or more at once will generate results lists that are inaccurate):
   
   • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
   • Print Materials - limit to print books in our collection
   • Full Text Online - resources you can access online
5. Refine your results by Resource Type:
   
   • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
   • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
6. Access the full text of each resource.
   
7. Select the title of a resource to learn more about it.
   
   • The resource's record appears, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

Use these tips when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

1. Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
   
2. Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
   

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!

Use these three powerful little words - called Boolean operators - to create better searches.

What are Boolean operators?

Boolean operators are words that we use to link two or more keywords while searching. Linking your keywords with the words AND, OR, and NOT help to expand or narrow the results you get while searching.

AND

• AND tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are requiring both terms to be in your results. Linking two keywords with the word AND ensures that all of your search results have keyword #1 AND keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you are comparing, contrasting, or otherwise relating two keywords!
• Example: "peanut butter"  AND jelly 
  • Will only show me results that contain both peanut butter AND jelly

OR

• OR tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are okay with either keyword (or both keywords) appearing in your search results. Linking two keywords with the word OR ensure that all results with have either keyword #1 OR keyword #2 OR both.
• Use this operator to find information about any of your keywords when you do not need one resource to contain every keyword you search.
• Example: "peanut butter" OR jelly
  • Will return results that include peanut butter; jelly; and peanut butter and jelly

NOT

• NOT  tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you only want results containing one keyword, but NOT the other. Linking two keywords with the word NOT will only return results containing keyword #1 but NOT keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you have noticed that searching for keyword #1 also returns results about keyword #2, but that is not what you are looking for.
• Example: "peanut butter" NOT jelly
  • Will return results that contain peanut butter, but NOT results that contain jelly.

^{Image credit: Slippery Rock University}

As Google embraces AI, its search functionality changes. Check back for updates (tried and tested by your human librarian friends).

Select each Google-specific strategy below to learn how to use it and why it is helpful.

• Use keywords

  

• tell Google what is most important to you

  Make sure to use keywords - words that are likely to appear in the websites or articles that you're looking for.
  • Why? Save yourself time. Save yourself from the frustration of sifting through garbage results.
    • In this example: Instead of saying friendships, I used relationships, because that’s a more academic term that researchers' or medical sites tend to use. Regarding this topic, researchers are who I want to learn from.
    • In this example: I used doomscrolling instead of news addiction because doomscrolling describes a very specific phenomenon involving both obsessively reading the news and the mental anguish that accompanies that action.

• site:

  

• search for a specific type of site

  • Use the special operator site: to retrieve webpages from URLs with the domain suffix (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify. Do not put spaces between the operator and the domain suffix.
    • Why? Website domain suffixes reveal the type of website or organization associated with it. Knowing this background can help you decide if you trust the information. Learn about website domain suffixes.

  search within a specific site

  • Use the special operator site: to retrieve webpages from the domain name (clackamas.edu or hhs.gov) you specify.
    • Why? Google is a powerful search tool and usually more effective than the search tools built into individual websites. The site: operator tells Google to search throughout that single domain for your search terms.
    • What is a domain name? The text that you type into an address bar to reach a specific website. CCC's domain name is clackamas.edu; the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is hhs.gov.

• - (a hyphen or minus sign)

  

• exclude words

  Use the special operator - (a hyphen or minus sign) in front of words to exclude them from your search results. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.

• "quotation marks"

  

• find an exact match

  • Use quotation marks around phrases to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
    • Why? Quotation marks override Google's default search system. When you want search results featuring an exact quote or phrase, using quotation marks around your search terms is the best way to ensure that happens.
  • Use quotation marks around a single search term.
    • Why? This guarantees that your exact word appears on the webpages you get back. No substitutions or related terms.

• intitle:

  

• search in the title

  Use the special operator intitle: to retrieve webpages with your keywords in the title of the webpage. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.
  • Why? This helps you find more topic-relevant resources. If your keyword is in the title of a webpage, article, or video, the resource is probably about your topic.

• * (asterisks symbol):

  

• fill-in-the-blank

  Use the special operator * (asterisk symbol) as an invitation for Google to fill-in-the-blank. The * command only works on whole words, not parts of words.
  • Why? This is a useful way to ask open-ended questions or get suggestions. Google uses the * to fill-in-the-blank and find popular or contextual matches. (The search example above could return results correlating doomscrolling to anxiety, gender, FOMO, risk taking, and more.)

• OR

  

• search with synonyms or related ideas

  Use OR in between synonyms or related ideas to have either term show up in your search results. OR must be capitalized.
  • Why? This is a good way to search for synonyms. Google automatically searches for related words, but if you have specific synonyms or related keywords in mind, tell Google to find them.
  • Why? This is a good way to search for related ideas, or different ideas related to the same topic.
    • Example:  [ happiness OR "quality of life" joyscrolling ]  could be used to search for how joyscrolling impacts either happiness or the quoted phrase "quality of life"
    • Example:  [ income OR "life expectancy" joyscrolling ]  could be used to search for two different ideas, both related to joyscrolling.

• filetype:

  

• find downloadable files

  Use the special operator filetype: to retrieve specific types of files (instead of html webpages). Works for finding common file type extensions (docx, pdf, xlsx, mp4); see a more complete list. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.
  • Why? We find this useful when searching for a free PDF or an editable template (e.g., project management template filetype:docx)

• combine several strategies

  

• Google like a librarian

  Use several strategies at once for very specific results.
  • Why? Take back agency over your search results. See beyond what AI or a search algorithm tells you to look at. Define your expectations of credibility, accuracy, and voice in your search results. 
  • Why? Save yourself time. Feel like a searching superstar when you quickly get high-quality and useful results that you told Google how to find, instead of Googling telling you to look at.

  Google like a computer scientist

  If this sort of specialized searching is fun and useful for you, check out this regularly updated, publicly viewable Google doc that lists a whole lot more Advanced search operators. (Maintained by Dr. Daniel M. Russell; you can Google him.)