Skip to Main Content

Education

Learn about CCC Library's services and resources to assist Education students.

APA 7 basics

APA 7 requires four citation elements to cite each resource. 

  1. Author
  2. Date
  3. Title
  4. Source

The Source element requires two pieces of information: a publisher / “greater whole” and a URL / DOI (when available).

Learn how to create APA citations for articles, books, webpages, and more in the next section (APA 7 citation examples). Each tab covers a different type of information.

URL / DOI

The second part of the Source element describes the location from where you can retrieve the work.

DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier, and is a long alphanumeric code unique to the document.  Because online materials can potentially change URLs, APA recommends providing a DOI when it is available, as opposed to the URL.

  • DOIs are usually found on the first page of a document. This includes journal articles, eBooks, and even print books.
  • Format: They usually start with https://doi.org/xxxxx or “DOI:” following by a string of numbers and letters.

If you cannot find a DOI, include the direct URL to the item. 

  • Permalink URLs. For library-provided resources, use a permalink URL. Library databases provide article permalink URLs that function similarly to DOIs.
  • Check with your instructor if they want you to include library database URLs in your reference citations when a DOI is not available. It is not always necessary. See 9.30 (p. 296) of the APA Manual for context on excluding or including database information in references.

Publisher / “greater whole”

The first part of the Source element describes the source from where you can retrieve the work. For some items this means the publisher; for others is means the "greater whole."

How do you know when to use publisher or "greater whole"?

Resources fall into one of two categories: resources that stand alone, and resources that are part of a larger published item.

  • Resources that stand alone use publisher. Examples of resources that stand alone include:
    • a whole book
    • a film
    • a podcast
  • Resources that are part of a larger published item use "greater whole."  Examples of resources that are part of a larger published item include:
    • an article (the "greater whole" is the name of the journal or newspaper)
    • a chapter in a book (the "greater whole" is the title of the book)
    • a webpage (the "greater whole" is the name of the website)
    • an encyclopedia article (the "greater whole" is the name of the encyclopedia)

What is the purpose of APA?

APA (American Psychological Association) style is used to organize papers and cite sources, primarily within the social sciences discipline but also in health sciences and natural sciences. These disciplines include nursing, psychology, and biology.

These style guidelines provide readability and consistency so readers can:

  • focus on the ideas being presented rather than formatting
  • scan works quickly for main points, research findings, and sources
  • determine types and locations of sources 

APA 7 citation examples

Journal article

Template

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. DOI or static URL

Online, DOI number

Apardian, R. E., & Reid, N. (2020). Going out for a pint: Exploring the relationship between craft brewery locations and neighborhood walkability. Papers in Applied Geography, 6(1), 1-16. https://doi.org/10.1080/23754931.2019.1699151

Online, no DOI number

Muhumuza, J., Molen, S. F., Bassara, G. N., Waziri, M. A., Kithinji, S. M., Sonye, K. M., ... & Lule, H. (2025). The effect of chewing gum on postoperative ileus after laparotomy for gastroduodenal perforations: A randomized controlled trial. BMC Gastroenterology, 25(1), 402. https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=0b24d006-83d6-3cd6-a760-9eafade9fb2f

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Apardian & Reid, 2020; Muhumuza et al., 2025)
  • Narrative citations: Apardian and Reid (2020) and Muhumuza et al. (2025)
Basic rules for articles in academic journals
  • Article titles: Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles, as well as the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and any proper nouns. 
  • Journal titles: Italicize the journal title. Capitalize all major words in the journal title. Maintain any nonstandard punctuation and capitalization (e.g., PhiloSOPHIA). 
  • DOI or static URL: If the journal article has a DOI, include this after the page numbers for the article. If no DOI is available and you are accessing the journal online, use the URL of the website or the article's database permalink.
    • Students: Double-check with your instructor about including database permalinks.

Book, eBook (electronic book), or audiobook

When the content is the same as the print book version, you do not need to note that you used an eBook or audiobook. 

Template

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Publisher Name. DOI (if available)

Print, or online from a database

Kobabe, M. (2020). Gender queer: A memoir. Oni Press.

Online, DOI number

Balius, F. (2024). Traces of madness: A graphic memoir. Pennsylvania State University Press. https://doi.org/10.5325/jj.15944989

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Kobabe, 2020; Balius, 2024)
  • Narrative citations: Kobabe (2020) and Balius (2024)
Basic rules for books
  • Book titles: Italicize the book title. Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles, as well as proper nouns.
  • DOI: If available, APA 7 requires a DOI for all works that have one, whether print or digital. If a print work does not have a DOI do not include it in the reference citation.
  • Versions, editions, translations: Only note the version of the book (e.g., eBook, audiobook, Kindle, abridged) if the content is different from the print version. Note the edition of the book or if it is a translation. See pp. 321-328 in the APA Manual.

Chapter in a book

When the content is the same as the print book version, you do not need to note that you used an eBook or audiobook. 

Template

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Capital letter also for subtitle (pp. pages of chapter). Publisher. DOI (if available)

Print, or online from a database

Aburto, G. (2025). The media and biodiversity conservation. In G. W. Frankie, A. Mata, & S. B. Vinson (Eds.), Biodiversity conservation in Costa Rica: Learning the lessons in a seasonal dry forest (pp. 257-265). University of California Press.

Print or online, DOI number

Balsam, K. F., Martell, C. R., Jones, K. P., & Safren, S. A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed., pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000119-012

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Aburto, 2025; Balsam et al., 2019)
  • Narrative citations: Aburto (2025) and Balsam et al. (2019)
Basic rules for chapters in books
  • Chapter titles: Capitalize the first word of the title as well as proper nouns.
  • Editor names: First initials are followed by last name, and the abbreviation (Ed.) for one editor, and (Eds.) for two or more editors.
  • Book titles: Italicize book titles. Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles, as well as proper nouns.
  • DOI: If available, APA 7 requires a DOI for all works that have one, whether print or digital. If a print work does not have a DOI do not include it in the reference citation.
  • Versions, editions, translations: Only note the version of the book (e.g., eBook, audiobook, Kindle, abridged) if the content is different from the print version. Note the edition of the book or if it is a translation. See pp. 321-328 in the APA Manual.

Magazine article

Template

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. DOI or static URL

Print

Schumer, L. (2024). Is your dog’s food safe? Prevention, 72(1), 90–91.

Online from a library database

Spaeth, R. (2025). The 'six seven' panic: Adolescent slang has always been impenetrable to adults. That’s the point. New York, 58(22), 6–7. https://research-ebsco-com.ccclibrary.idm.oclc.org/linkprocessor/plink?id=b855f230-04c5-3150-b5a0-609d1e91ed87

Online from the publisher's website

Pinsker, J. (2020, January 27). When does someone become “old”? The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/family/archive/2020/01/old-people-older-elderly-middle-age/605590/

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Schumer, 2024; Spaeth, 2025; Pinsker, 2020)
  • Narrative citations: Schumer (2024), Spaeth (2025), and Pinsker (2020)
Basic rules for articles in magazines
  • Article titles: Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles, as well as the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and any proper nouns. 
  • Magazine titles: Italicize the magazine title. Capitalize all major words in the magazine title. Maintain any nonstandard punctuation and capitalization (e.g., AARP: The Magazine). 
  • DOI or static URL: If the magazine article has a DOI, include this after the page numbers for the article. If no DOI is available and you are accessing the magazine online, use the URL of the website or the article's database permalink.
    • Students: Double-check with your instructor about including database permalinks.

Newspaper articles

Template

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Periodical, pages. DOI or static URL

Newspaper from a library database

Cronin, K. (2025, October 3). "Immaculate" skunk found in garden in Northamptonshire: The RSPCA has asked for the public's help to find the owner of a skunk found hiding under some garden decking. North Hamtonshire Telegraph Online. https://link-gale-com.ccclibrary.idm.oclc.org/apps/doc/A858210890/STND?u=clackamasccl&sid=bookmark-STND&xid=c4821429

Newspaper from a publisher's website

Clifford, S. (2011, December 28). Training a cat to walk on a leash. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/29/garden/training-a-cat-to-walk-on-a-leash.html

News website **different from a newspaper; cite like a website**

Cole, D,. & Luhby, T. (2025, October 30). Judge indicates she’ll intervene in fight over SNAP food assistance money. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2025/10/30/politics/boston-judge-intervene-snap-payments

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Cronin, 2025; Clifford, 2011; Cole & Luhby, 2025)
  • Narrative citations: Cronin (2025), Clifford (2011), and Cole and Luhby (2025)
Basic rules for articles in newspapers
  • Online newspapers versus online news websites. APA uses website citation format for articles published in online news sources (p. 351). Online news sources are different than online newspapers. Ask a librarian if you need help identifying the type of news you are looking at.
  • Article titles: Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles, as well as the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and any proper nouns. 
  • Newspaper titles: Italicize the newspaper title. Capitalize all major words in the newspaper title. Maintain any nonstandard punctuation and capitalization (e.g., YachatsNews). 
  • DOI or static URL: If the news article has a DOI, include this after the page numbers for the article . If no DOI is available and you are accessing the news article online, use the URL of the website or the article's database permalink.
    • Students: Double-check with your instructor about including database permalinks.

Webpages and websites

Template

Author, A. A. (n.d.) Title of webpage or item. Site Name. URL

Name of Group. (Year, Month Day). Title of webpage or item. Site Name. URL

Webpage, individual author

Gage, W. (2017). How to *really* know you’re in love. Medium. https://medium.com/@krisgage/how-to-really-know-youre-in-love-d8d433a0f0bf

Webpage, group author

Clackamas County. (n.d.). Housing assistance programs. https://www.clackamas.us/socialservices/housingassistance.html

Wikipedia article

Unipiper. (2024, November 10). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Unipiper&oldid=1256606214

News website **different from a newspaper; cite like a website**

Cole, D,. & Luhby, T. (2025, October 30). Judge indicates she’ll intervene in fight over SNAP food assistance money. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2025/10/30/politics/boston-judge-intervene-snap-payments

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Gage, 2017; Clackamas County, n.d.; Cole & Luhby, 2025)
  • Narrative citations: Gage (2017), Clackamas County (n.d.), and Cole and Luhby (2025) 
Basic rules for webpages and websites
  • Individual webpage. If you cite multiple webpages from one website, create a reference entry for each webpage.
  • Entire website. If you reference an entire website, include its name in-text followed immediately by its URL in parentheses. No reference page entry is needed. For example, if you cited CCC Library's (library.clackamas.edu) entire website you would so do like this.
  • Author. If you cannot identify an author, start with the webpage title instead. When the author and the site name are the same (often happens with group authors), omit the site name from the source element.
  • Publication date. Provide the most specific date possible (which is not necessarily the copyright date on the bottom of the page). For webpages without dates, write (n.d.), which stands for no date.
    • Wikipedia publication date. For the date, include the last archived version of the page so readers can retrieve the version you used. Learn more on pp. 329 in the APA Manual.

Generative AI

Template

AI Company Name. (year, month day). Title of chat in italics [Description, such as Generative AI chat]. Tool Name/Model. URL of the chat

AI Company Name. (year). Tool Name/Model in Italics and Title Case [Description; e.g., Large language model]. URL of the tool

Specific AI chat

Google. (2025, May 22). High school grammar concepts overview [Generative AI chat]. Gemini 2.5 Flash. https://g.co/gemini/share/a1306ce12929

AI tools in general

OpenAI. (2025). ChatGPT [Large language model]. https://chatgpt.com/

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Google, 2025; OpenAI, 2025)
  • Narrative citations: Google (2025), OpenAI (2025)
Basic rules for generative AI
  • Author: The AI tool.
  • Date: Give the exact date the content was generated.
  • Title: Describe what was generated by the AI tool, followed by the type of AI tool in brackets.
  • Source: Share the Tool Name / Mode and give the stable, shareable URL for accessing the generated content.

Encyclopedia article

This category includes encyclopedias, online dictionaries, thesaurus, and other "reference" works. 

Templates

Lastname, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In B. B. Lastname (Ed.), Title of reference work (edition). Publisher. URL or DOI

Institution or organization name. (Year). Title of entry. In Title of reference work. URL

Online from a library database

Scottish Highland Games competition. (2007). In K. L. Lerner & B. W. Lerner (Eds.), World of Sports Science (Vol. 2, pp. 610-611). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3451100460/GVRL?u=clackamasccl&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=953d2506

Online from a website

Hasker, W. & Taliaferro, C. (2023). Afterlife. In E. N. Zalta & U. Nodelman (Eds.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2023 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/afterlife/

Wikipedia article

Unipiper. (2024, November 10). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Unipiper&oldid=1256606214

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: ("Scottish Highland Games competition," 2007; Hasker & Taliaferro, 2023; Unipiper, 2024)
  • Narrative citations: Scottish Highland Games competition (2007), Hasker and Taliaferro (2025), and Unipiper (2024)
Basic rules for encyclopedia articles
  • Author: Authors can be individuals or a group (institution or organization). If there is no named author, start the reference entry with the article title.
  • Wikipedia: APA 7 treats Wikipedia articles as special instances of entries in reference works. For the date, include the last archived version of the page so readers can retrieve the version you used. Learn more on pp. 329 in the APA Manual.

Presentation slidedecks, webinars 

Template

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Date). Title of presentation [Lecture notes, PowerPoint slides, etc]. Name of Host. URL

Presenter, A. A. (Year). Title of webinar [Webinar]. Name of Organization. URL

PowerPoint slidedeck (available in Moodle, not publicly accessible)

Moore, M. J. (2025, November 11). Peer support for veterans [PowerPoint slides]. Moodle. https://online.clackamas.edu

Google Slides slidedeck (available online, accessible to anyone)

CCC Library. (2024, October 29). Welding cracks [Google Slides slides]. https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1mPhs6YWJI4NkOX4Rfhn78mbJ4yzcL6PWf8yGjDNz_yI/edit?usp=sharing

Recorded webinar

Springy Jen. (2025, October 16). Activating Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) [Webinar]. Springshare. https://training.springshare.com/libapps/activating-mfa

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Moore, 2025; CCC Library, 2024; Springy Jen, 2025)
  • Narrative citations: Moore (2025), CCC Library (2024), and Springy Jen (2025)
Basic rules for presentations
  • Title. Include the file format in brackets after the title.

Videos, TV shows, YouTube

Template

Director, D. D. (Director). (Date of publication). Title of motion picture [Film]. Production company(s).

Executive Producer, P. P. (Executive Producer). (Date range of release). Title of series [TV series]. Production company(s).

Writer, W. W. (Writer), & Director, D. D. (Director). (Original air date). Title of episode (Season number, Episode number) [Tv series episode]. In P. Executive Producer (Executive Producer), Series title. Production company(s). 

Person or group who uploaded video. (Date of publication). Title of video [Video]. Website host. URL 

Movie / film

Kang, M., & Appelhans, C. (Directors). (2025, June 20). KPop demon hunters [Film]. Sony Pictures Animation; Netflix.

TV series episode

Pelecanos, G. (Writer), Chappelle, J. (Director). (2004, December 12). Middle ground (Season 3, Episode 11) [TV series episode]. In J. Chappelle's (Executive Producer), The Wire. Blown Productions; HBO.

YouTube video

Kurzgesagt - In a Nutshell. (2024, October 09). We fell for the oldest lie on the Internet [Video]. https://youtu.be/bgo7rm5Maqg?si=7uQmUHS6a92gDQe-

In-text citations
  • Parenthetical citations: (Kang & Appelhans, 2025; Pelecanos & Chappelle, 2004; Kurzgesagt - In a Nutshell, 2024)
  • Narrative citations: Kang and Appelhans (2025), Pelecanos and Chappelle (2004), and Kurzgesagt - In a Nutshell (2024)
Basic rules for video and film
  • Authors are determined by media type.
    • Film = director
    • TV series = executive producer(s)
    • TV series episode = writer and director of the episode
    • Online streaming video = person or group who uploaded the video
  • Source - production company. If there are multiple production companies in the source element, separate them with a semicolon.

More APA reference citation examples

See pages 313-352 of the APA Manual for hundreds of example references. We have a copy you can check out and take home, and a copy is always available at the Research Help desk for in-library use.

Not in CCC Library? Ask a librarian to look something up for you.

Missing citation elements

If you are missing elements of a citation (e.g., no author, no date), this handout helps you build a complete APA reference citation using the information you have available.

Course-specific APA resources

These resources are also listed on their relevant Course Guides.

APA 7 paper format

Basics

  • Typed, double-spaced paragraphs.
  • 1" margins on all sides.
  • Align text to the left.
  • Choose one of these fonts: 11-point Calibri, 11-points Arial, 10-point Lucida Sans Unicode, 12-point Times New Roman, 11-point Georgia, 10-point Computer Modern.
  • Include a page header (also known as the "running head") at the top of every page with the page number.
  • APA papers are broken up into sections. Check with your instructor for their expectations.
  • In general, headings and title are centered.

APA-formatted document template

Google doc

  1. Select File
  2. Select Make a copy
  3. Give the document a name
  4. Optional: Select a Folder to save it in
  5. Select Make a copy

Word doc

  1. Select File
  2. Select Download
  3. Choose Microsoft Word (.docx)
  4. Access the editable file in your internet browser's Downloads folder

PDF

  1. Select File
  2. Select Download
  3. Choose PDF Document (.pdf)
  4. Access the printable file in your internet browser's Downloads folder

More APA help

APA 7th edition manual

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Research Help: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Except where otherwise noted, all content is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 license. Please email reference@clackamas.edu if you need content in an alternate / accessible format.