Research Guides: COMM111 Susan Martin-WI23: Get articles and more: Library databases

Library databases - your academic search engines

Search for resources on your topic in these databases. In these databases you will find the free, full text of encyclopedias for background research, articles that compare/contrast controversial topics, newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. This alternative to Wikipedia is a great place to start your research.

A-Z Databases
Not finding what you need? See a full menu of scholarly databases offered through CCC Library. Search all subjects, or filter by your preferred subject area.

No full text? No problem!

If you find an awesome article in a database and CCC Library does not have the full text, get it for free anyway! Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form, linked below, and CCC Library will email you the article in a couple days.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Streaming scholarly videos

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of on-demand videos, including subject areas like anthropology, business, counseling, health, history, music, and more. Make video clips and build playlists.
Films on Demand (FoD) This link opens in a new window
FoD offers thousands of streaming videos online. It's like an academic version of your favorite streaming service. Subjects include art, biology, careers & job searching, criminal justice, CTE, history, mathematics, science, technology, and world languages.

Search strategy overview - databases

Use these tips when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.

Too Many Results?	Too Few Results?
Add in additional search terms. Limit to peer-reviewed journals. Limit by date. Limit by subject. Limit to items with full-text availability. Change the search box dropdown menu to "Abstract" or "Subject."	Verify that you spelled everything correctly. Erase unnecessary search terms. Try different search terms. Use the Boolean operator OR between search terms. Remove any limits you may have added to an earlier search. Change the search box dropdown menu to "All Text" or "Entire Document."

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!