HUM/SSC 235 Hite/Severson

Search almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit partner libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best information resources.

1. Enter your search terms.
   
    
2. Select Search (the magnifying glass icon or hit Enter on your keyboard).
    
3. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.
   
    
4. Refine and filter your results using any of the options listed under Refine my results
   
   Highlights include:
   • Availability
     • Peer-reviewed Journals - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
     • On Library Shelves - print books in CCC Library on the Oregon City campus
     • Full Text Online - resources you can access online using your CCC username and password
     • Open Access - resources you can freely access online
   • Resource Type
     • Read - articles, print books, eBooks, magazine articles, book chapters, newspaper articles, encyclopedias
     • Watch - eVideo, DVD videos
     • Think about what type of resources make sense for your topic, your time frame, and your instructor's expectations.
        
5. Results page. The images, icons, and text on the results page tell you about each resource and how to access its full text. 
   

Tip: Use your keyword(s)

Perform your initial search with the one keyword (or keyword phrase) that describes your most important topic idea.

• Why just one keyword?

• We recommend as you start your research, start big and broad! Use your first few searches to test out how much information is available on your topic.

  • If you get lots of search results, add in a keyword for the second most important idea. Adding more keywords means you'll get fewer and more relevant search results.
  • If you get zero or very few search results with your one keyword, you know you haven't found the right word to search with yet, you misspelled something, or there is not a lot available on your topic.

• Why no quotation marks around a phrase?

• The short answer is because of artificial intelligence (AI). 
  The long answer is because nearly all databases use AI in their search algorithms, and that algorithm includes looking for related keywords automatically. Quotation marks typically override this automatic related-words search.

  • When you are first starting your research, using built-in AI is effective if you are not sure how to best describe an idea, or of what keywords to use. AI will expand your search and retrieve more search results for you.
    • In this example, the database looks at gen alpha, interprets it, and searches for any or all of the following terms:
      • Gen A
      • Gen Alpha
      • Generation Alpha
      • Alpha Generation
  • As you get deeper into your research, use quotation marks when you have identified effective keywords about your topic or want to perform targeted and precise searches. Quotation marks tell search tools to find results containing keywords in the exact order as written, instead of searching for the words separately or substituting words.

Tip: Review your search results for better keywords

Skim article titles, abstracts, and subjects (highlighted with labels) listed in your search results.

  In this example, an additional (and maybe better) keyword is Generation Alpha.

• Why should I look for more keywords?

• To find the most relevant and useful results, you will want to perform multiple searches using different keywords.

  • This process is called "iterative searching." Good research is iterative, meaning it is a circular process where you repeat steps more than once and improve upon what you have done before. Changing up your keywords is part of this process. 

  • Different keywords bring back different kinds of results for different kinds of readers.

    • In this example topic, researchers use terms like Alpha Generation and Generation Alpha. Searching with these terms means you will find more scholarly information.
    • Staff writers and everyday people use terms like Gen A or Gen Alpha. Searching with these terms means you will find more popular information.

• Why focus on the title, abstract, or subjects?

• • Titles and abstracts contain concise keywords that describe the most important topic ideas within the article. Authors choose those keywords and, as experts about their topic, are reliable sources for knowing how to describe a concept or idea.
  • Subjects are keywords added by authors or information specialists to describe what the article is about. When you choose a subject, you're guaranteed to get articles that are primarily about that keyword.

Tip: Add additional keywords into the search box - be strategic!

Find more relevant information by adding in keywords that target specific aspects of your topic.

• Why the quotation marks around a phrase now? "generation alpha"

• For precision searching. Quotation marks restrict the database to finding results containing keywords in the exact order as written, which means the precise context you need is reflected in the search results.

  • As you do more research, you'll notice that people use different language and offer up different perspectives on the same topic. Precise keyword searching helps you find these different perspectives.
  • Quotation marks restrict the database to finding results containing keywords in the exact order as written, which means the precise context you need is reflected in the search results.
    • Researchers largely do not use the term "Gen A" in their research papers and reports (yet). If you are looking for more scholarly information on this topic, you'll want to search with the exact phrase "Generation Alpha."
    • Everyday people do use the term "Gen A." Searching with the exact keyword "Gen A"  makes it more likely that you will find information written by and for a broad audience of everyone.

• Why the AND?

• For precision searching. AND commands the database to find search results containing keyword #1 AND keyword #2.

  • AND must be written in capital letters to function as a search command.
  • AND overrides* default search algorithms that look for only one (or more) keywords. (*Usually - there are exceptions.)
  • Examples:
    • "peanut butter" AND jelly
    • "peanut butter" AND honey AND banana

Tip: Use specialized tools to filter for better results

• Use Advanced Search.

• What is Advanced Search? "Advanced Search" is a searching interface available in most databases. It facilitates more strategic use of search terms, search tools, filters, and existing citations. Advanced searching lets you target more precise results, which is particularly useful in academic research.
  • Tips on using Advanced Search features (VSCU)
  • Using Gale article databases: Advanced Searching (Chemeketa CC)
  • EBSCO Advanced Search (EBSCO)

• I got zero results.

• We can change that! There are a couple reasons why you might get zero, or very few, results:

  • Misspellings. Verify that you spelled everything correctly.
  • Too many search terms. Erase unnecessary search terms, or try different search terms.
  • Full sentences. Some databases are unable to interpret questions and full sentences. Try one or two keywords in the search box instead of a full sentence.
  • Filters. Double-check that the database doesn't have restrictive filters on, like date limits or full text only.
  • New topic. Brand new topics and current events do not have much scholarly research available, because research takes time. Talk to a librarian about approaches to finding credible information about very-recent trends and topics.

• I got too many results.

• We can change that!

  Add in additional keywords that target specific aspects of your topic.

  Databases have built-in tools to help you filter through your search results to identify the best resources. Most database results pages offer the following tools:

  • Full Text. Filter results to articles with immediate full text.
  • Peer Reviewed. Filter results to items published in peer-reviewed journals.
  • Date. Filter to items published after a specified date.

  Talk to a librarian about using built-in tools to help make your research process easier and more efficient.

• For specialized database-specific tips, check out the following guides:

• • Academic Search Complete
  • CINAHL
  • PubMed

As Google embraces AI, its search functionality changes. Check back for updates (tried and tested by your human librarian friends).

Select each Google-specific strategy below to learn how to use it and why it is helpful.

• Use keywords

  

• tell Google what is most important to you

  Make sure to use keywords - words that are likely to appear in the websites or articles that you're looking for.
  • Why? Save yourself time. Save yourself from the frustration of sifting through garbage results.
    • In this example: Instead of saying friendships, I used relationships, because that’s a more academic term that researchers' or medical sites tend to use. Regarding this topic, researchers are who I want to learn from.
    • In this example: I used doomscrolling instead of news addiction because doomscrolling describes a very specific phenomenon involving both obsessively reading the news and the mental anguish that accompanies that action.

• site:

  

• search for a specific type of site

  • Use the special operator site: to retrieve webpages from URLs with the domain suffix (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify. Do not put spaces between the operator and the domain suffix.
    • Why? Website domain suffixes reveal the type of website or organization associated with it. Knowing this background can help you decide if you trust the information. Learn about website domain suffixes.

  search within a specific site

  • Use the special operator site: to retrieve webpages from the domain name (clackamas.edu or hhs.gov) you specify.
    • Why? Google is a powerful search tool and usually more effective than the search tools built into individual websites. The site: operator tells Google to search throughout that single domain for your search terms.
    • What is a domain name? The text that you type into an address bar to reach a specific website. CCC's domain name is clackamas.edu; the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is hhs.gov.

• - (a hyphen or minus sign)

  

• exclude words

  Use the special operator - (a hyphen or minus sign) in front of words to exclude them from your search results. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.

• "quotation marks"

  

• find an exact match

  • Use quotation marks around phrases to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
    • Why? Quotation marks override Google's default search system. When you want search results featuring an exact quote or phrase, using quotation marks around your search terms is the best way to ensure that happens.
  • Use quotation marks around a single search term.
    • Why? This guarantees that your exact word appears on the webpages you get back. No substitutions or related terms.

• intitle:

  

• search in the title

  Use the special operator intitle: to retrieve webpages with your keywords in the title of the webpage. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.
  • Why? This helps you find more topic-relevant resources. If your keyword is in the title of a webpage, article, or video, the resource is probably about your topic.

• * (asterisks symbol):

  

• fill-in-the-blank

  Use the special operator * (asterisk symbol) as an invitation for Google to fill-in-the-blank. The * command only works on whole words, not parts of words.
  • Why? This is a useful way to ask open-ended questions or get suggestions. Google uses the * to fill-in-the-blank and find popular or contextual matches. (The search example above could return results correlating doomscrolling to anxiety, gender, FOMO, risk taking, and more.)

• OR

  

• search with synonyms or related ideas

  Use OR in between synonyms or related ideas to have either term show up in your search results. OR must be capitalized.
  • Why? This is a good way to search for synonyms. Google automatically searches for related words, but if you have specific synonyms or related keywords in mind, tell Google to find them.
  • Why? This is a good way to search for related ideas, or different ideas related to the same topic.
    • Example:  [ happiness OR "quality of life" joyscrolling ]  could be used to search for how joyscrolling impacts either happiness or the quoted phrase "quality of life"
    • Example:  [ income OR "life expectancy" joyscrolling ]  could be used to search for two different ideas, both related to joyscrolling.

• filetype:

  

• find downloadable files

  Use the special operator filetype: to retrieve specific types of files (instead of html webpages). Works for finding common file type extensions (docx, pdf, xlsx, mp4); see a more complete list. Do not put a space between the operator and your search term.
  • Why? We find this useful when searching for a free PDF or an editable template (e.g., project management template filetype:docx)

• combine several strategies

  

• Google like a librarian

  Use several strategies at once for very specific results.
  • Why? Take back agency over your search results. See beyond what AI or a search algorithm tells you to look at. Define your expectations of credibility, accuracy, and voice in your search results. 
  • Why? Save yourself time. Feel like a searching superstar when you quickly get high-quality and useful results that you told Google how to find, instead of Googling telling you to look at.

  Google like a computer scientist

  If this sort of specialized searching is fun and useful for you, check out this regularly updated, publicly viewable Google doc that lists a whole lot more Advanced search operators. (Maintained by Dr. Daniel M. Russell; you can Google him.)

Great question. A "good" source is both credible and relevant.

Relevancy means the source helps you answer your questions, learn widely about your topic, and think about your topic in new ways.

Credibility, when applied to an information source, means trustworthy. Trustworthiness is tricky to determine, but doable! Pause and ask questions about your information resource, beyond just what is in your information resource. CCC Library recommends either of these tools to help you evaluate your information resources.

• The CRAP Test

• The SIFT Method

Ultimately it is up to you to determine — using research and your own critical judgment — whether a source is credible or not. And "credible" can mean something and look different to everyone. Your instructors expect you to use credible, authoritative information in your projects and papers, so be upfront and clear about why you trust the information you choose to use.

CCC Librarians are here to help you with this question, too. ♥

^{Abe adapted from public domain photo Abraham Lincoln [image]. (1863). Available from https://upload.wikimedia.org/}