Research Guides: Medical Billing and Coding: eBook databases

eBooks

CCC Library offers access to hundreds of eBooks covering many Medical Billing and Coding-related topics. Read eBooks online or download and transfer them to an eReader or mobile device.

Highlighted MBC-related titles are listed below. Find links to our eBook databases below the titles.

ICD-10-CM billing + coding

Telemedicine & Telehealth Reference Guide (Second Edition) by AAPC
Call Number: COURSE RESERVES
Publication Date: 2022
Coders' Dictionary & Reference Guide (Second Edition) by AAPC
Call Number: COURSE RESERVES
Publication Date: 2022
Coders' Specialty Guide: Cardiology / Cardiothoracic Surgery by AAPC
Call Number: COURSE RESERVES
Publication Date: 2022
2022 ICD-10-CM Chart - Cardiology by AAPC
Call Number: COURSE RESERVES
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Medical Coding: A Comprehensive Guide by Sandra L. Johnson; Robin Linker
Call Number: PRINT - RB115 .U525 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Using clear, step-by-step instructions, you learn how to code a claim correctly and link the correct CPT and ICD-10-CM codes for reimbursement. You gain an understanding of adjustments, how and when to bill patients, and what to do in case of a denial or rejection.
Request a scanned chapter by filling out CCC Library's Request a Book Chapter form.
Guide to Clinical Documentation by Debra D. Sullivan
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Coverage of -problem-oriented medical records, patients with multiple complaints or multiple conditions. Examples of "good" and "bad" documentation for evaluation. Explanations of use and terminology of ICD-10-CM codes in billing.
ICD-10-CM Documentation 2020: Essential Charting Guidance to Support Medical Necessity by American Medical Association
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2019
The new edition focuses on the key role proper documentation plays in supporting medical necessity. ICD-10-CM Documentation 2020 brings coders and physicians together to ensure documentation success, identifying all ICD-10-CM documentation requirements using detailed checklists.
Pediatric ICD-10-CM 2020: a Manual for Provider-Based Coding by American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Coding and Nomenclature
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Completely updated set of pediatric ICD-10-CM codes condenses the vast set of diagnostic codes down to a more manageable number for billers and coders.

Anatomy and physiology

Anatomy and Physiology by James A. Wise; Mark Womble; Kelly A. Young, et al.
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2013, last updated June 2021
Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Visual! by Janyce Dyer
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Anatomy & Physiology Made Incredibly Visual takes difficult clinical topics and presents them in a clear, concise, easy-to-understand manner. The highly visual nature of this book makes anatomy and physiology fundamentals accessible to the reader in a unique and interesting way that enables quick review and comprehension as well as practical application.

Medical + insurance terminology

Concise Encyclopedia of Insurance Terms by Robert E. Stevens; Lawrence Silver; Kenneth Clow
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The purpose of the book is to provide insurance practitioners, consumers, and students with definitions of common insurance terms in both the property/casualty and life/health insurance industries. The unique feature of the book is that many of the definitions contain detailed explanations of coverage provided by certain types of insurance and/or examples that illustrate how a particular coverage works.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level.

Medical instruments

A Text Book of Medical Instruments by S. Ananthi
Call Number: Online eBook
Publication Date: 2005
This book has subdivided the realm of medical instruments into the same sections like a text on physiology and introduces the basic early day methods well, before dealing with the details of present day instruments currently in use.

Allied Health encyclopedias

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. This alternative to Wikipedia is a great place to start your research.

Includes the following encyclopedias:

The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (2018)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (2015)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health (2021)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science (2021)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health (2021)

eBook databases (all subjects)

EBSCO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
This ever-growing collection includes eBooks on every topic, including business, health sciences, literary criticism, performing arts, religion, social sciences, technology, and CTE (career and technical education).
How to search EBSCO eBooks
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) has tens of thousands of titles geared toward an academic audience and contains titles related to the arts, business, education, nursing, history, journalism, literature, religion and philosophy, and STEM.
How to search Ebook Central (ProQuest)