Research Guides: Public Health: Article databases and eJournals

Public Health databases

Public Health is an interdisciplinary field touching on a wide range of subject areas. This intersectionality means when you do research you won't always search in the same databases.

Below are databases organized by three disciplines that frequently intersect with public health. Databases labeled "Best Bet" will be the most useful for you as they contain content specific to public health.

Public Health - Medicine and Epidemiology

Public Health - Policy and Public Affairs

Public Health - Social Sciences

Public Health eJournals

Some public health journals are available for free online, indicated with an OPEN ACCESS icon. Others require you to sign in with your Clackamas username and password.

American Journal of Public Health (AJPH)
The American Journal of Public Health is a monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association that covers health policy and public health.
BMC Public Health
OPEN ACCESS
BMC Public Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on the epidemiology of disease and the understanding of all aspects of public health. The journal has a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environmental, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.
Critical Public Health
Critical Public Health (CPH) is an international peer reviewed journal publishing critically engaged research in public health, health promotion, political economy of health, and related fields. ("Critical" in our title refers to the perspective taken and the analysis, more so than the urgency of the topic.)
The Lancet Public Health
OPEN ACCESS
This monthly journal is committed to publishing high-quality content that contributes to advancing health equity, public health practice, and policy making worldwide.

Request articles, book chapters, and books through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar lets you cast a wide net into every discipline of research. Go ahead and use Google Scholar, but remember - never pay for an article online. Get it for free, through CCC Library's Interlibrary loan (ILL) service.

To request an article, first double-check that the article is not available from another database. The CCC Library Catalog is a good place to check!

Once you have determined it is not available at CCC, please fill out our Interlibrary Loan form (below) or contact ill@clackamas.edu. Articles will be emailed to you in 1-4 days.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Not a CCC Library database. Scholar is a special Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations). Full text links are included if available, but you may hit a paywall. To get the free full text of Google Scholar articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.

Google Scholar & Google Books How-To
How to access and use Google Scholar & Google Books. Last updated January 2021

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Handouts and worksheets

CRAP Test worksheet - PDF
CRAP Test worksheet to print and write on. Last updated 2021.

CRAP Test worksheet - Google Doc
Google Doc template is "View Only." To edit and type into it, save a copy to your Google Drive or download as a Word document. Last updated 2021.

Reading peer-reviewed journal articles
How to recognize characteristics of and efficiently read peer-reviewed journal articles. Last updated Jan. 2017.