WR122 Donnelly

1. Start big.

   1. Start your searches with the most important idea. If you get a lot of search results, you can add in more search terms. Adding more terms means you'll get fewer search results.
   2. If you get very few search results, you know you've either searched with the wrong word, or there isn't a lot available on your topic.

2. Use quotation marks.

   1. Use quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.

3. Try, and try again.

   1. Searching is both a process and a result. Finding information isn't a one-and-done exercise. It is a process where you try something, assess what you found, add that to what you already know, and use your new knowledge to make a more informed next attempt.
   2. Use different tools to find different types of information. That means using different CCC Library tools (databases, catalog) and search engines.

This search tool is a free, credible, library alternative to Google. Find almost everything CCC Library has to offer to you - items in CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and most article databases. Then refine your search results to identify the best resources.

1. Enter your search terms.

1. Select Search.
2. Select Sign in and log in using your myClackamas email and password.

1. Refine your results by Availability:
   
   • Peer-reviewed - online articles published in peer-reviewed journals
   • Available at CCC - limit to print books in our collection
   • CCC Online Resources - resources you can access online
2. Refine your results by Resource Type:
   
   • Types of resources include newspaper articles, magazine articles, peer-reviewed journal articles, print books, eBooks, streaming videos, book reviews, audio files, DVDs, reference entries (dictionaries and encyclopedias), and more.
   • Think about what type of resource your instructor expects you to use on your assignment. Limit your results to just those acceptable types. 
3. Access the full text of each resource.
   
4. Click on the title of a resource to learn more about it.
   • The resource's record will appear, which tells you more about the item and how to access the full text. See an example.

Contact a CCC librarian if you have any questions!

Use these tips when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

1. Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
   
2. Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
   

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!

Use these three powerful little words - called Boolean operators - to create better searches.

What are Boolean operators?

Boolean operators are words that we use to link two or more keywords while searching. Linking your keywords with the words AND, OR, and NOT help to expand or narrow the results you get while searching.

AND

• AND tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are requiring both terms to be in your results. Linking two keywords with the word AND ensures that all of your search results have keyword #1 AND keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you are comparing, contrasting, or otherwise relating two keywords!
• Example: "peanut butter"  AND jelly 
  • Will only show me results that contain both peanut butter AND jelly, because I want both of them.

OR

• OR tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are okay with either keyword (or both keywords) appearing in your search results. Linking two keywords with the word OR ensure that all results with have either keyword #1 OR keyword #2 OR both.
• Use this operator to link synonyms (words that mean the same thing). 
• Example: jelly OR jam
  • Will return results that include jelly, jam, and jelly and jam. This is because these words are interchangeable and I'm okay with seeing results with either word.

NOT

• NOT  tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you only want results containing one keyword, but NOT the other. Linking two keywords with the word NOT will only return results containing keyword #1 but NOT keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you have noticed that searching for keyword #1 also returns results about keyword #2, but that is not what you are looking for.
• Example: jelly NOT grape
  • Will return results that contain jelly, but NOT results that contain grape, because I'm not looking for information on grape jelly.

We all use it - now let's learn to use it better! Improving your Googling skills will save you time and make it easier to identify better sources of information. Tips and tricks are explained below.

1. Use quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.

1. Use intitle: to retrieve webpages with your keywords in the title of the webpage

1. Use site:. to retrieve webpages from URLs in the domain (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify.  

1. Use - (a hyphen or minus sign) in front of words to exclude them from your search results.

1. Use OR in between words to have either or both of the words included in your search results. OR must be capitalized. This is a good way to search for synonyms.

In the above example, Google will find results that include (election AND fraud) and (voter AND fraud).

1. Use filetype: to retrieve specific types of files (instead of html webpages). Works for finding most file types.

1. Use several strategies at once for very specific results.

The database guides linked below were created specifically for CCC classes.