Skip to main content

Research help

This guide will help you at all stages of the research process, from choosing a topic to citing your sources.

What are permalinks?

Permalinks are just that – permanent, unbreakable links to library database and catalog items. Permalinks are also called persistent links, permanent links, Title URLs, and URLs. Their locations in databases vary and most importantly - they are not the URL in your internet browser address bar.

Permanent links allow students, faculty, and staff to access CCC Library resources from both on and off campus. When off campus, the permanent link will prompt you to sign in using your myClackamas username and password.

CCC Library databases

  1. Visit CCC Library's A-Z Database page.
  2. Find the database you want to link to.
  3. Select the "share" icon Share icon located opposite the database name.
  4. Highlight the link by clicking on it.
    CCC Library database permalink location.
  5. Copy and paste the link into your web browser, email client, or any other app.

CCC Library catalog

  1. Select the title of an item listed on your search results page.
  2. Select Permalink (located in the middle of the item's record under the heading Send to).
  3. A box containing the permalink will appear.
  4. Select Copy the permalink to clipboard, and paste the URL into your assignment.

Screenshot of permalink in CCC Library's catalog.

EBSCO databases

  1. Select the title of an item listed on your search results page.
  2. Select EBSCO permalink icon. (located in the item's record in the far right-hand column).
  3. A box containing the permalink will appear at the top of the webpage.
  4. Highlight, copy, and paste the URL into your assignment.

EBSCO database permalink icon and link location.

Gale databases

  1. Select the title of an item listed on your search results page.
  2. Select "Citation Tools."
  3. Locate the URL listed in the premade citation.
  4. Highlight, copy and paste the URL into your assignment.

Gale permalink

Films on Demand

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.