Research Guides: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ): Why can't I log in?

Why can't I log in?

CCC provides off-campus access to library databases and eBooks for current students, faculty, and staff only. When accessing an online resource from off-campus, access is authenticated via a proxy server. You will be asked to enter your myClackamas credentials to verify your current affiliation with the College.

Below are explanations of the errors you might encounter when logging in to your library accounts or to CCC Library’s articles and databases.

Why can't I log in?
Are you able to log into both myClackamas AND Moodle with the same username and password?
- If no, reset your myClackamas password, wait 30 minutes, and try again.
- If yes, identify the problem and a solution below.
- I am unable to log into a library database (e.g., EBSCO).
  - You generally won't have an account for each individual database. Your CCC Library account is what grants you access to database materials.
  - Follow the steps under "Can't access CCC databases or articles?" below to make sure you are accessing the database from the right place.
- I am unable to log into the CCC Library Catalog.
  - For your username, make sure you’re using your entire CCC student email (including the @student.clackamas.edu) and myClackamas password.
  - Double check that CAPS lock is on
  - Double check your spelling.
  - For help, contact CCC Library’s IT specialist Mark Kremkow (mark.kremkow@clackamas.edu, 503-594-6152).
- A link in Moodle is not working.
  - Try searching for the title of the article/book in CCC Library’s Catalog. Please let your instructor know that the link does not work.
  - For help, contact a librarian or your instructor.
Clicking on a library link isn't working; link is broken.
What you need to do: Contact a librarian through 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat and ask for help getting the resource. Second, if the link is in your Moodle site, please let your instructor know that the link is broken. Otherwise, let the library know by emailing reference@clackamas.edu.
A link to a library resource is incorrect if you follow it and land on any of the following:
Faculty: Linking to articles and more contains instructions for creating links to library resources that will work from on and off campus.
- CCC’s homepage.
- A CCC page that says the requested page could not be found.
- A sign-in screen that isn’t the CCC login or has a logo other than CCC’s.
Error message says: "Enter your user ID in the format “domain\user” or “user@domain”.
You may be entering the wrong login credentials. Log in using your full Clackamas email address as your username, and your myClackamas password. (Example: doe.jane@student.clackamas.edu).
Error message says: “Oops! It looks like you have attempted to view a page that has not been configured for access.”
This error occurs when you try to go to a website that either is a new resource or isn't known to our Proxy service. Please contact CCC Library’s IT specialist Mark Kremkow (mark.kremkow@clackamas.edu, 503-594-6152) and we’ll get it resolved as soon as possible.
Error message says: “This site can’t be reached sts.clackamas.edu took too long to respond.”
This error is likely a computer, network, or browser issue. Solutions:
- Try another browser (e.g., Firefox, Chrome).
- Reset your wifi connection (if applicable).
- Restart your computer/device.
- Try another computer/device.
Can't access CCC databases or articles?
Verify that you are in the right place: All library resources must be accessed through links on CCC Library's website. Library resources cannot be accessed through Google or Google Scholar.
- Make sure you are logged in to the CCC Library site before opening database materials.
- If you are certain that you are in the right place and logged in, try these steps:
  - Try a different browser (e.g., Firefox, Chrome).
  - Disable security temporarily.
  - Delete cookies.
  - Delete temporary files.
  - Restart your browser.
  - Restart your computer.
- If you are logged in to the CCC library catalog and cannot open a resource through the green "Full text available" or "Online access" links, the link may be broken. Click the "submit report" button () to let CCC library know!