Research Guides: HE263 Pantages: Finding Articles/Books (library databases)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Health databases

Below are databases that contain journals related to health sciences - in them you can find scholarly and popular articles as well as newspaper articles. If you can't find what you are looking for in these databases you might want to look through our complete list of healthcare-related databases.

Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes more than 530 full-text academic journals. Topics include psychiatry, psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, and experimental methods.
How to search Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
CINAHL Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides full text for 800+ nursing and allied health journals with indexing for over 5,000 more. In addition to journal articles, you'll also find evidence-based care sheets, clinical trials, and “quick lessons” - overviews of disease and conditions. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
How to search CINAHL
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alt HealthWatch contains full text articles from popular, trade, and peer-reviewed publications as well as other types of information, like pamphlets, book excerpts, conference proceedings, and special reports. Resources in this database focus on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
How to search Alt HealthWatch

General databases

These general databases have articles on a wide variety of topics. They can be useful if your topic falls outside of healthcare, or if you can't find what you are looking for in the healthcare databases. General databases can also be helpful if the health-related articles you are finding in the healthcare databases have too much technical jargon.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.

eBooks

CCC Library offers access to hundreds of eBooks covering many nursing disciplines. Read eBooks online or download and transfer them to an eReader or mobile device (learn how by selecting the How to Search links below).

EBSCO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's ever-growing eBook collection includes eBooks on every topic, including business, health sciences, literary criticism, performing arts, religion, social sciences, technology, and CTE (career and technical education).
How to search EBSCO eBooks
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) has tens of thousands of titles geared toward an academic audience and contains titles related to the arts, business, education, nursing, history, journalism, literature, religion and philosophy, and STEM.
How to search Ebook Central (ProQuest)

CCC Library Catalog (books, ebooks, articles, and more!)

Visit the Dye Learning Center on CCC's Oregon City campus to check out print books. Search for books using CCC Library's catalog, located on the library's homepage. You will need your student ID card to check out a book. Books can be checked out for 6 weeks.

The catalog can also be used for finding articles, videos, and more. For more information about using the catalog effectively, visit the Research Help on Searching page.

Off-campus access

Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.

Go to CCC Library's homepage.
Select Articles, eBooks, and Databases under Research tools.
Select a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete).
Log in using your full myClackamas email address and password.
Select Submit.
Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.

Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6042 or use our 24/7 chat tool for help.