Databases - articles - WR121 Niziolek - Research Guides at Clackamas Community College

Find articles in databases

The databases listed below offer magazine and peer-reviewed journal articles. Several of the database are environmental and natural science-focused in their content.

Pro-tip! Not everything in a library database is considered "credible or authoritative" - it is up to you to determine which information is best to use on your Research Essay assignment.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Environmental Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Browse videos, news sources, refereed case studies, conference proceedings, authoritative analysis, legislation, statistics, and primary source articles on topics addressing the physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues.
How to search Environmental Studies (Gale In Context)
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
How to search Environmental Studies and Policy
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is not a CCC Library database. It is a special Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations). Full text links are included if available, but you may hit a paywall. To get the free full text of Google Scholar articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.
How to search Google Scholar
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database about the intersection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
How to search GreenFILE

Request articles, book chapters, and books through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Off-campus access

Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.

Go to CCC Library's homepage.
Select Articles, eBooks, and Databases under Research tools.
Select a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete).
Log in using your full myClackamas email address and password.
Select Submit.
Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.

Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6042 or use our 24/7 chat tool for help.