Research Guides: WRD098 Mount: Direct links to a variety of sources

Blogs

Best of the Web Blog Directory
So many blogs. All the blogs.

eBooks

EBSCO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
This ever-growing collection includes eBooks on every topic, including business, health sciences, literary criticism, performing arts, religion, social sciences, technology, and CTE (career and technical education).
How to search EBSCO eBooks
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) has tens of thousands of titles geared toward an academic audience and contains titles related to the arts, business, education, nursing, history, journalism, literature, religion and philosophy, and STEM.
How to search Ebook Central (ProQuest)

Encyclopedia articles

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
GVRL offers thousands of online subject encyclopedias - the academic version of Wikipedia.

Essays + quality online publications

Arts & Letters Daily
Browse the Essays, Newspapers, and Magazines columns for tons of source ideas.
The Atlantic
The New Yorker
Harper's
Mother Jones
The Economist

Images

An image posted on the Internet is free to use, no citation or attribution needed, right? Not so fast! Images are copyrighted works, and to be an ethical information consumer you need to cite your information (image) source. Depending on the purpose of your use of the image, you may also need to secure permission before using the image. (If you're creating an OER, for example.) To avoid the messy world of online images and copyright, consider using an image with a Creative Commons license.

Select the image above (Source: Comosa Connect) to access an interactive graphic that provides you with a wealth of links to Creative Commons-friendly sources. Additional sources that curate Creative Commons images include:

AllGo: Free Plus-Size Stock Photos
Based in Portland, OR, AllGo is committed to doing everything they can to increase the representation of plus-size people. Attribution is requested whenever possible.
CCSearch
A website that "offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. CC has no control over the results that are returned. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link." Choose put your search terms and indicate how you will be using the image, then select where you would like to search.
Flickr
An online photo repository with CC and non-CC licensed photos. Select "Any License," then select whichever CC license you would like. Note that you can also search Flickr through CCSearch.
Gender Spectrum Collection
The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library of CC-licensed images of trans and non-binary models. "This collection aims to help media outlets better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives."
Google Image Search
Search for a topic. Then select "Search tools." Next, select "Usage rights." Select whichever CC license makes sense for your needs.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
The LOC does not own the copyright licenses to these images, so it is up to you to determine if you can use a particular image. Many will not have a free license.
The Noun Project
Free icons; attribution is required for use. The Noun Project is a community of designers from 120+ countries building the most diverse and extensive collection of iconography ever created.
Open Clip Art Library
All images on this site are in the public domain. Learn more on their "Licenses" page.
Smithsonian Open Access
Nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items, including images and data from Smithsonian's 19 museums, 9 research centers, libraries, archives and the National Zoo.

Magazine and journal articles

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile offers newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier has a lot of well-known magazines and newspapers in it - in addition to super scholarly stuff.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Not a CCC Library database. Scholar is a special Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations). Full text links are included if available, but you may hit a paywall. To get the free full text of Google Scholar articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents.
Popular Magazines (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Popular Magazines includes articles from the top 1,000 most-searched magazines. It has a strong focus on current events.

Newspaper articles

News (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains both current events and archived historical journalism.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes news articles from 300 regional U.S. newspapers, 40 international newspapers, and U.S. and international newswires.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews and editorials on national and international business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more. Access historical New York Times content using the TimesMachine. Includes access to Cooking, Wirecutter, and The Learning Network. Requires a user account tied to your CCC email address.
**First time users: Sign up for a free account to access the New York Times

Podcasts

Dave suggests Hidden Brain, Radiolab, The Takeaway, OPB’s Here and Now, Medium. Jane also likes Freakonomics, Stuff You Should Know, Reply All, This American Life, and TED Radio Hour.

Poetry

www.poets.org/
Website for the Academy of American Poets; one of the leading poetry sites online.
www.poetryfoundation.org/
Website of the Poetry Foundation. Browse by poem or poet, and access archived issues of Poetry magazine.

Print books

CCC Library catalog
Search CCC Library's print collection. Use the call number to find the item on the shelf!

Streaming videos

Films on Demand (FoD) This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand offers thousands of streaming videos online - it’s like an academic version of Netflix!
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of on-demand videos, including subject areas like anthropology, business, counseling, health, history, music, and more. Make video clips and build playlists.