Skip to Main Content

BI211 Soll & Mayer

A Course Guide for students in FA19's most excellent BI211 class.

Databases with peer-reviewed articles

Here are some great academic alternatives to searching for articles in the CCC Library Catalog and Google/Google Scholar.

Search strategy overview - databases

Use these tipsWork smarter, not harder. when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

  1. Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
    Basic search, "emotional support animals"
  2. Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
    Advanced search

 

Too Many Results? Too Few Results?
  1. Add in additional search terms.
  2. Limit to peer-reviewed journals.
  3. Limit by date.
  4. Limit by subject.
  5. Limit to items with full-text availability.
  6. Change the search box dropdown menu to "Abstract" or "Subject."
  1. Verify that you spelled everything correctly.
  2. Erase unnecessary search terms.
  3. Try different search terms.
  4. Use the Boolean operator OR between search terms.
  5. Remove any limits you may have added to an earlier search.
  6. Change the search box dropdown menu to "All Text" or "Entire Document."

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!

EBSCO: Limit to peer-reviewed articles

  1. EBSCO logo.Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
  2. Select an EBSCO database.
  3. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in an EBSCO database.
  4. Look at the left-hand column on your results page.
  5. Find the section titled Limit To.
  6. Mark the box labeled Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  7. Wait for the page to refresh.
  8. Voila! All search results come from peer-reviewed journals.

Gale: Limit to peer-reviewed articles

  1. Gale logo.Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
  2. Select a Gale database.
  3. Perform a search using topic-related search terms in a Gale database.
  4. Look at the right-hand column on your results page.
  5. Find the section titled Limit Search by.
  6. Mark the box labeled Peer Reviewed Journals.
  7. Wait for the page to refresh.
  8. Voila! All search results come from peer-reviewed journals.

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu