Research Guides: WR121 Amy Warren: Find resources: Library databases

Video overview

In class we talked about using Academic Search Complete (ESBCO) to find scholarly information on your topics. If you missed class or would like a refresher, use the video linked below to get an overview of how to search in ASC.

Video on searching in Academic Search Complete
This is an overview of how to search for articles in ESBCO. It covers searching, selecting filters, adjusting keywords, and accessing articles.

Find articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) This link opens in a new window
eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale) is a great place to start your research - it is the academic version of Wikipedia!
How to search eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A great place to begin research on contemporary topics. Reports are written by journalists and fact checked. They include a topic overview and background, current situations, pro and con viewpoints, images, and timelines.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Begin your research on hot topics and current events here. Opposing Viewpoints (OV) offers "viewpoint articles" and opinion pieces that provide multiple perspectives on issues. Additional coverage includes magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles.
How to browse topics in OV
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is not a CCC Library database. It is a special Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations). Full text links are included if available, but you may hit a paywall. To get the free full text of Google Scholar articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.
How to search Google Scholar
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center includes up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
How to search Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale database. Provides scholarly journal and magazine articles on the disciplines of gender and queer studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes more than 530 full-text academic journals. Topics include psychiatry, psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics, and experimental methods.
How to search Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Psychology (Gale OneFile) include newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes all fields of psychology - abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
How to search Psychology (Gale OneFile)

Get an article emailed to you - if we don't own it, no problem! We'll get it. :-)

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. For books, please check Summit first. ILL is used for all article and book chapter requests. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.

Filter to the right topic/subject database

This tip will help you find an article in our topic-specific EBSCO and/or Gale databases. If we don't have your exact topic, choose the closest related subject, or use the databases Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete.

Filter to the right topic/subject database

Go to CCC Library's A-Z Database list.
Select the dropdown menu All Subjects
Select your subject from the list
The resulting list of databases will be specialized to your subject. Look for those that say Best Bet.
- Bonus: Limit the databases to those that have professional, peer-reviewed journals by also using the All Database Types dropdown menu.

Search eBooks

EBSCO eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's ever-growing eBook collection includes eBooks on every topic, including business, health sciences, literary criticism, performing arts, religion, social sciences, technology, and CTE (career and technical education).
How to search EBSCO eBooks
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) has tens of thousands of titles geared toward an academic audience and contains titles related to the arts, business, education, nursing, history, journalism, literature, religion and philosophy, and STEM.
How to search Ebook Central (ProQuest)

WR121 Amy Warren

24/7 live chat

Off-campus access

Video overview

Find articles

Get an article emailed to you - if we don't own it, no problem! We'll get it. :-)

Filter to the right topic/subject database

Search eBooks