Intervention and Treatment

Tip: Use your keyword(s)

Perform your initial search with the one keyword (or keyword phrase) that describes your most important topic idea.

• Why just one keyword?

• We recommend as you start your research, start big and broad! Use your first few searches to test out how much information is available on your topic.

  • If you get lots of search results, add in a keyword for the second most important idea. Adding more keywords means you'll get fewer and more relevant search results.
  • If you get zero or very few search results with your one keyword, you know you haven't found the right word to search with yet, you misspelled something, or there is not a lot available on your topic.

• Why no quotation marks around a phrase?

• The short answer is because of artificial intelligence (AI). 
  The long answer is because nearly all databases use AI in their search algorithms, and that algorithm includes looking for related keywords automatically. Quotation marks typically override this automatic related-words search.

  • When you are first starting your research, using built-in AI is effective if you are not sure how to best describe an idea, or of what keywords to use. AI will expand your search and retrieve more search results for you.
    • In this example, the database looks at gen alpha, interprets it, and searches for any or all of the following terms:
      • Gen A
      • Gen Alpha
      • Generation Alpha
      • Alpha Generation
  • As you get deeper into your research, use quotation marks when you have identified effective keywords about your topic or want to perform targeted and precise searches. Quotation marks tell search tools to find results containing keywords in the exact order as written, instead of searching for the words separately or substituting words.

Tip: Review your search results for better keywords

Skim article titles, abstracts, and subjects (highlighted with labels) listed in your search results.

  In this example, an additional (and maybe better) keyword is Generation Alpha.

• Why should I look for more keywords?

• To find the most relevant and useful results, you will want to perform multiple searches using different keywords.

  • This process is called "iterative searching." Good research is iterative, meaning it is a circular process where you repeat steps more than once and improve upon what you have done before. Changing up your keywords is part of this process. 

  • Different keywords bring back different kinds of results for different kinds of readers.

    • In this example topic, researchers use terms like Alpha Generation and Generation Alpha. Searching with these terms means you will find more scholarly information.
    • Staff writers and everyday people use terms like Gen A or Gen Alpha. Searching with these terms means you will find more popular information.

• Why focus on the title, abstract, or subjects?

• • Titles and abstracts contain concise keywords that describe the most important topic ideas within the article. Authors choose those keywords and, as experts about their topic, are reliable sources for knowing how to describe a concept or idea.
  • Subjects are keywords added by authors or information specialists to describe what the article is about. When you choose a subject, you're guaranteed to get articles that are primarily about that keyword.

Tip: Add additional keywords into the search box - be strategic!

Find more relevant information by adding in keywords that target specific aspects of your topic.

• Why the quotation marks around a phrase now? "generation alpha"

• For precision searching. Quotation marks restrict the database to finding results containing keywords in the exact order as written, which means the precise context you need is reflected in the search results.

  • As you do more research, you'll notice that people use different language and offer up different perspectives on the same topic. Precise keyword searching helps you find these different perspectives.
  • Quotation marks restrict the database to finding results containing keywords in the exact order as written, which means the precise context you need is reflected in the search results.
    • Researchers largely do not use the term "Gen A" in their research papers and reports (yet). If you are looking for more scholarly information on this topic, you'll want to search with the exact phrase "Generation Alpha."
    • Everyday people do use the term "Gen A." Searching with the exact keyword "Gen A"  makes it more likely that you will find information written by and for a broad audience of everyone.

• Why the AND?

• For precision searching. AND commands the database to find search results containing keyword #1 AND keyword #2.

  • AND must be written in capital letters to function as a search command.
  • AND overrides* default search algorithms that look for only one (or more) keywords. (*Usually - there are exceptions.)
  • Examples:
    • "peanut butter" AND jelly
    • "peanut butter" AND honey AND banana

Tip: Use specialized tools to filter for better results, get premade citations, and more

• Use Advanced Search.

• Here's how! (Coming soon.)

• I got zero results.

• We can change that! There are a couple reasons why you might get zero, or very few, results:

  • Misspellings. Verify that you spelled everything correctly.
  • Too many search terms. Erase unnecessary search terms, or try different search terms.
  • Full sentences. Some databases are unable to interpret questions and full sentences. Try one or two keywords in the search box instead of a full sentence.
  • Filters. Double-check that the database doesn't have restrictive filters on, like date limits or full text only.
  • New topic. Brand new topics and current events do not have much scholarly research available, because research takes time. Talk to a librarian about approaches to finding credible information about very-recent trends and topics.

• I got too many results.

• We can change that!

  Add in additional keywords that target specific aspects of your topic.

  Databases have built-in tools to help you filter through your search results to identify the best resources. Most database results pages offer the following tools:

  • Full Text. Filter results to articles with immediate full text.
  • Peer Reviewed. Filter results to items published in peer-reviewed journals.
  • Date. Filter to items published after a specified date.

  Talk to a librarian about using built-in tools to help make your research process easier and more efficient.

• For specialized database-specific tips, check out the following guides:

• • Academic Search Complete
  • CINAHL
  • PubMed

The date a resource (article, book, video, etc.) was created is important in medical fields research. Outdated information can negatively impact your understanding of a topic and be harmful to patients.

In general, do not use resources that are over 5 years old. There are three primary exceptions:

• You are writing a paper about the history of medicine, and need historical information included.
• You are making an argument that relies on highlighting the history of a medical topic.
• There is no new research on your topic. In which case, be up front about the age of your resources.

Library tools and Google Scholar make it easy to limit your results by date. Find the date filter. It will vary depending on what tool you are in, but it may include a date slider, a field to type a date into, a calendar to select a date, or a drop down where you can select "within the past 5 years."

We all use it - now let's learn to use it better! Improve your Googling skills to save time and make it easier to identify better sources of information.

Quotation marks

• 
• Use quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.

intitle:

• 
• Use intitle: to retrieve webpages with your keywords in the title of the webpage

site:

• 
• Use site:. to retrieve webpages from URLs in the domain (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify.  

- (a hyphen or minus sign) 

• 
• Use - (a hyphen or minus sign) in front of words to exclude them from your search results.

OR

• 
  In the above example, Google will find results that include (election AND fraud) and (voter AND fraud).
• Use OR in between words to have either or both of the words included in your search results. OR must be capitalized. This is a good way to search for synonyms.

filetype:

• 
• Use filetype: to retrieve specific types of files (instead of html webpages). Works for finding most file types.

Combine strategies

• 
• Use several strategies at once for very specific results.