DA125 Hiatt

Databases are great for finding articles and sometimes ebooks. Databases search through many different journals and magazines, often related by field. For example, we have a number of medical databases that are a good starting point for dental research. Databases are much smaller than the library catalog, and often have specialized tools to help you search more efficiently.

Accessing articles in databases

Some articles you find in library databases will be available immediately as full-text. Other times you will need to request the items using InterLibrary Loan (ILL). ILL is a free service, but it can take a few days to get materials.

These databases are some of the ones that have content related to the Dental Assistant program and a good place to start. If you can't find what you need there is a more extensive list on Dental Assistant Subject Guide, or you can always talk to a librarian (reference@clackamas.edu).

Here's a tip for searching DOAJ:

Make sure you are in the articles search and put in your keywords. Once your results appear, use the Subject filter feature on the left by searching Dentistry in the "Search subjects" search box - you will be able to select a box to narrow your results to that field.

Use these tips when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!

1. Use quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
   
2. Use different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
   

Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!

Use these three powerful little words - called Boolean operators - to create better searches.

What are Boolean operators?

Boolean operators are words that we use to link two or more keywords while searching. Linking your keywords with the words AND, OR, and NOT help to expand or narrow the results you get while searching.

AND

• AND tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are requiring both terms to be in your results. Linking two keywords with the word AND ensures that all of your search results have keyword #1 AND keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you are comparing, contrasting, or otherwise relating two keywords!
• Example: "peanut butter"  AND jelly 
  • Will only show me results that contain both peanut butter AND jelly, because I want both of them.

OR

• OR tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you are okay with either keyword (or both keywords) appearing in your search results. Linking two keywords with the word OR ensure that all results with have either keyword #1 OR keyword #2 OR both.
• Use this operator to link synonyms (words that mean the same thing). 
• Example: jelly OR jam
  • Will return results that include jelly, jam, and jelly and jam. This is because these words are interchangeable and I'm okay with seeing results with either word.

NOT

• NOT  tells the catalog or database you are searching in that you only want results containing one keyword, but NOT the other. Linking two keywords with the word NOT will only return results containing keyword #1 but NOT keyword #2.
• Use this Boolean operator when you have noticed that searching for keyword #1 also returns results about keyword #2, but that is not what you are looking for.
• Example: jelly NOT grape
  • Will return results that contain jelly, but NOT results that contain grape, because I'm not looking for information on grape jelly.

CINAHL is one of the go-to databases for medical research. If you'd like more support using it, you can check out the information pages below. Don't forget you can always email the library for help (reference@clackamas.edu).