English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

Non-fiction Young Adult (Lexile) books are print books that are written at levels beyond the Leveled Reader collection. Non-fiction books are based on facts. Topics might be science, current events, history, biographies (books about real people), or how-to books.

If you find you are no longer challenged by reading Level 6 / black books in the Leveled Reader collection and you like reading true stories and biographies, check out our Non-fiction Lexile books!

• Our Non-fiction Lexile books are located next to the Leveled Reader collection.
• Young Adult books are written with a "voice" reflects young adults' experiences. Voice includes point of view, vocabulary, and tone.
• Young Adult books explore themes in ways reflective of young adults' experiences.
• Young Adult books are marked with Lexile numbers. A Lexile number is a rating for how hard a book is to read. The higher the number, the more complex the word use and sentence length. CCC Library's Lexile books have stickers with numbers between 500 (easier) and 1100 (harder).

Young Adult fiction books are print books that are written at levels beyond the Leveled Reader collection.

If you find you are no longer challenged by reading Level 6 / black books in the Leveled Reader collection, it is time to move to the next level: our Young Adult collection!  Young Adult books:

• Are written for a target audience of 13-18 year olds, but everyone can enjoy Young Adult books!
• Have at least one main character who is a teenager.
• Are written with a "voice" reflects young adults' experiences. Voice includes point of view, vocabulary, and tone.
• Explore themes in ways reflective of young adults' experiences.
• Found in their own sections in Public Libraries and bookstores.
• Young Adult books are marked with Lexile numbers. A Lexile number is a rating for how hard a book is to read. The higher the number, the more complex the word use and sentence length. CCC Library's Lexile books have stickers with numbers between 500 (easier) and 1100 (harder).

Select the link below to learn more about our Young Adult collection and find titles by topic and reading level.