Find evidence - CCC Library tools - NRS Year 1 and Year 2 Research Support - Research Guides at Clackamas Community College

When to use CCC Library tools

The type of information you need, who authors it, and how you can filter and refine your searches dictates where you want to search.

It is often more effective to search for information using a CCC Library tool when you are looking for:

Content written by and for nurses
The ability to search with topic-specific detail and granularity
Primary research studies
Books and eBooks
Historical information
Any type of information not listed here that typically costs money, is kept behind a paywall, or isn't ethically found for free online - CCC Library will try to get it to you for free
Help from a real human and not an AI bot

Recommended Nursing resources

These databases emphasize the nursing and allied health disciplines.

CINAHL Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides full text for 800+ nursing and allied health journals with indexing for over 5,000 more. In addition to journal articles, you'll also find evidence-based care sheets, clinical trials, and “quick lessons” - overviews of disease and conditions. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
How to search CINAHL
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.

The following list includes faculty-recommended journals related to nursing.

You will need to request full text access to most of these articles through Interlibrary Loan. This is a free service built into our databases; it does take anywhere between 3-10 business days. Plan ahead and give yourself enough time to research, request, receive, and read your articles!

Advances in Nursing Science (ANS) Publishes works that speak to the need for global sustainability and that take an intersectional approach, recognizing class, color, sexual and gender identity, and other dimensions of human experience related to health. Partial full-text access; order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Clinical Nursing Research (CNR) Publishes the best available evidence from multidisciplinary teams, with the goal of reporting clinically applicable nursing science and phenomena of interest to nursing. Partial full-text access; order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Journal of Advanced Nursing (JAN) Nursing care, nursing education, midwifery community healthcare, pediatrics. Order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Journal of Clinical Nursing Community, geriatric, mental health, pediatric nursing. International nursing journal promotes idea sharing between different cultures to provide a rich insight into nursing intervention and service delivery. Partial full-text access; order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Journal of Family Nursing Nursing research, practice, education, and policy issues related to families in health and illness. Order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing (JHPN) Explores and reports innovations, research and issues that shape state-of-the-art nursing practice in end-of-life care. Partial full-text access; order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Journal of Pain and Symptom Management Clinical research and best practices related to the relief of illness burden among patients afflicted with serious or life-threatening illness. Order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Nursing Published for professional nurses and administrators in hospitals, managed health care, doctor's offices and schools. Partial full-text access; order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Nursing Inquiry Concerned with historical, methodological, ethical, policy and substantive issues relating to the everyday practice of nursing. Order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.
Open Nursing Journal Open access, peer-reviewed, international journal focusing on issues affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector.
Qualitative Health Research International, interdisciplinary journal for the enhancement of health care and to further the development of qualitative research methods in health care settings. Order articles using Interlibrary Loan link in database.

Print books and eBooks are excellent sources for context and background related to sociopolitical aspects of nursing and healthcare. Books may be topical deep dives written by researchers, collections of academic articles on a theme, or even literary nonfiction.

Find books and eBooks in CCC Library's catalog. Keyword suggestions include:

"social determinants of health"
"health literacy"
"health inequities" OR "health disparities"
injustice AND health
"community health"
healthcare OR "medical care"
"health promotion"
intersectionality

CCC Library catalog
Search CCC Library's collection of print books and eBooks.
Pick up your CCC Library and Summit Library material at Harmony! Learn how to request Harmony pick up.

These databases include all general medicine disciplines. They are not specific to nursing and allied health.

PubMed (MEDLINE & PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a government website that allows users to search for biomedical and health-related scholarly literature. If you are looking for medical information from any disciplinary perspective, PubMed is a good place to start.
How to search PubMed
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Access full text by following either the Linked Full Text or Request this item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) links under the article abstracts.
Health and Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical and professional journals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Not a CCC Library database. Scholar is a special Google search engine that looks for scholarly material indexed online (books, articles, dissertations). Full text links are included if available, but you may hit a paywall. To get the free full text of Google Scholar articles emailed to you, submit an interlibrary loan request to CCC Library.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free way to get books, articles, or other materials not available at CCC Library.

Many databases index articles, meaning they tell you what is published but do not necessarily link you to the full text due to publisher embargoes. This is common, especially with newer articles. When this happens, request the free full-text of articles using the Request this item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link. CCC Library will email you the article in 3-10 days.
Screenshot of "Request this item through Interlibrary Loan" link in CINAHL

If you do not see Request this item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) link in a database, manually fill out the form linked below.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request an article, book chapter, or book from another library. Questions? Contact Karina Young at 503-594-3314 or ill@clackamas.edu.