Research Guides: WR122 Burnell: Find sources: Library tools

When to use CCC Library tools

The type of information you need, who authors it, and how you can filter and refine your searches dictates where you want to search.

It is often more effective to search for information using a CCC Library tool when you are looking for:

The ability to search with topic-specific detail and granularity
Scholarly journal articles
Popular magazine articles
Newspaper articles
Streaming videos
Books
eBooks
Historical information
Any type of information not listed here that typically costs money, is kept behind a paywall, or isn't ethically found for free online - CCC Library will try to get it to you for free
Help from a real human and not an AI bot

Based on your experiences and knowledge of your topics, what types of information would you add to this list?

Find scholarly* articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Magazine, trade journal, newspaper, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a wide range of subjects and is good for research on almost every topic. Most articles are available in full-text. It’s a great place to look for scholarly resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, trade journal, and peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as eBooks, videos and podcasts. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. It’s a great place to look for resources when you’re not sure where to start.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Begin your research on hot topics and current events here. Opposing Viewpoints (OV) offers "viewpoint articles" and opinion pieces that provide multiple perspectives on issues. Additional coverage includes magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles.
How to browse topics in OV

* Oh fun! A disclaimer! Not all articles in CCC Library databases are scholarly, accurate, or good for academic research. Use your information evaluation skills to determine if the articles you find meet your needs. Your CCC Librarian can help you with this!

A-Z Databases
Not finding what you need? See a full menu of scholarly databases offered through CCC Library. Search all subjects, or filter by your preferred subject area.

Find newspaper articles

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as business, health, criminal justice, science, humanities, political science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including Clackamas Review and the Oregonian. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
How to search NewsBank
New York Times newspaper This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews and editorials on national and international business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more. Access historical New York Times content using the TimesMachine. Includes access to Cooking, Wirecutter, and The Learning Network. Requires a user account tied to your CCC email address.
**First time users: Sign up for a free account to access the New York Times

Find books and eBooks

CCC Library catalog
Search CCC Library's print collection. Use the call number to find the item on the shelf!

WR122 Burnell

Off-campus access

Request FREE articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

When to use CCC Library tools

Find scholarly* articles

Find newspaper articles

Find books and eBooks