Skip to main content

Using CCC Library

CCC Library supports students, faculty, staff, and community members by teaching users how to find and evaluate information, providing access to millions of print and online resources, assisting with research, and offering space to learn.

Purpose of collection management

CCC Library serves the college community and helps fulfill the college's mission by building and maintaining well-balanced and relevant collections that support instructional programs.

CCC Library's Collection Management Procedures and Guidelines document provides a framework for decisions concerning acquisitions, donations, withdrawals and material utilization. General criteria is used in making print and electronic collection decisions; each item is considered in terms of its own merit and usefulness to library users. Librarians, library staff, faculty members, and other members of the CCC community collaborate in selecting print and electronic material for inclusion in CCC Library's collection.

Suggest a purchase

Faculty, staff, and students are welcome to make suggestions for purchases of library material. Material is evaluated for the extent to which it fits the library's collection and supports CCC's curriculum. Please note that CCC Library does not purchase required textbooks for its collection. Please contact a librarian with your suggestion!

Gifts and donations

CCC Library welcomes donations! CCC Library will not price books for tax purposes. A letter of acknowledgement will be given to the donor.

CCC Library retains the right to find alternative homes for gifted materials not chosen for the library collection. CCC Library may refuse gifts if the donor attaches special conditions to the retention or use of the gift.

Statement of concern regarding CCC Library material

Use the steps and form below if you wish to voice concern about an item(s) in the CCC Library collection.

Process for stating your concern:

  1. Complete the "Statement of Concern – Library Material" form below. You may wish to photocopy the completed form for your records.
  2. Submit the form in hard copy to any library staff member. The library staff member will forward your form to the Library Department Chair.
  3. Await a response. The Library Department Chair will contact you within five (5) business days of the date listed on the form to arrange a meeting to discuss your concerns.
  4. Meet with the Library Department Chair. At the meeting, the issues regarding the library material will be defined and solutions will be discussed.
  5. Await a decision. After gathering more information (if needed), the Department Chair will make a decision regarding the library material and will communicate that decision to you.
  6. Follow up, if needed. If you believe the decision of the Library Department Chair does not address your concern, please ask the Library Department Chair to forward your concern to the Dean of the Curriculum Planning and Research (CPR).

Collection management procedures and guidelines

To review CCC Library's complete Collection Management Procedures and Guidelines document, please contact a librarian.

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.