Research Guides: Textbook Affordability and Open Educational Resources (OER): Library Textbook Collections

Course Reserves

Course Reserves is a collection of required and recommended course materials (textbooks, workbooks, boxes of rocks, etc.) that students can check out from the library. It is the most frequently utilized collection in the entire library!

Faculty and/or departments are responsible for obtaining copies of all required and recommended course materials and providing them to the library for the Course Reserve collection. For more information, see ISP 170P Textbook and Instructional Materials Adoption Procedure.

Making your course materials available on Course Reserve saves students money and helps students who:

have delays in their financial aid disbursement or other financial hardship;
would like to work on campus, but left the book at home;
can't get the book from the bookstore; or
are thinking about taking the class, and want to see the material to help them decide.

Course Reserve FAQ

Can the library purchase or use already-owned titles for Course Reserve?

No. It is the instructor or department's responsibility to provide the library with copies of items for Course Reserve. All Course Reserve titles are owned by the instructor or department and housed in the library. Any library-owned copies of materials used as course materials must remain in library-owned collections.

Can my department or program manage our own Course Reserve collection?

Yes. ISP 170 & ISP 170P require that all required and recommended course materials are on reserve either in the library or the department office. However, the library recommends that copies are provided for the library Course Reserve collection regardless of whether those titles are also on reserve in the department office. This is our recommendation because: it is difficult for us to keep track of which departments offer their own Course Reserve collection, students are used to obtaining Course Reserve items from the library and get frustrated when told they need to make multiple stops at different locations, and because the library is the building open the latest on the Oregon City campus and our hours are posted publicly for students, which may not be the case for department-held Course Reserve collections.

What happens if a student loses or does not return a Course Reserve item?

Mistakes happen! The library routinely runs reports for items not returned to the library. Students are reminded to return overdue items via email. Once considered lost, the library will be in touch with the instructor or department to secure a replacement.

Submit Course Reserves

1. Complete the following form:

2. Drop off or mail course materials to the library.

Mailing address:

Course Reserves

Clackamas Community College Library

19600 Molalla Avenue

Oregon City, Oregon 97045

Print Course Reserves Submission Form
If you prefer a print version, you can fill out and turn in a print copy of the Course Reserves Submission Form by using this PDF. Please turn completed forms in to Lise Stephens in the library (D113).

Full-term Loan Textbook Collection

The Full-Term Loan Collection is a collection of textbooks available to be checked out for the entire term. This collection is made possible by collaboration between CCC Library and CCC's Associated Student Government. Textbooks available for full-term checkout are located in the Dye Learning Center and will always be due back to CCC Library by the last day of term. These textbooks are purchased and owned by CCC Library.

This collection is a Textbook Affordability initiative designed to lower financial barriers by providing students with the opportunity to check out their course materials for an entire term, rather than a limited-duration loan like the regular course reserves collection.

Full-term Loan Collection FAQ

How does the Full-term Loan Collection relate to the Course Reserve collection?

Nothing has changed about the Course Reserve collection, the Full-Term Loan Collection is simply an additional option for CCC students to borrow their textbooks from the library. As always, items in Course Reserve are purchased and owned by instructors and departments. Items in the Full-Term Loan collection are purchased and owned by CCC Library.

How do textbooks get added to the Full-Term Loan Collection?

Textbooks are only added to this collection if they are 1. currently required or recommended for a CCC class and 2. are already in the Course Reserve collection. Once these requirements are met, there are two ways items get added to this collection: 1. CCC Library purchases copies of textbooks with funds provided by the library and ASG. 2. Copies are donated to the library by CCC students, CCC employees, or community members.

How do students check out books from the Full-term Loan Collection?

All they have to do is come to the library! The folks at the circulation desk can help students locate the textbooks they need. If the Full Term Loan copy of a textbook has already been checked out, library staff will recommend the regular Course Reserves copy as an alternative.

Questions? Contact Justine Munds.