Skip to Main Content
Access CCC Library's online article and eBook databases from off campus anytime, anywhere! Follow the instructions below to log in from off campus.
CCC Library's homepage. Select
Articles and A-Z databases under Research tools. Select a database (e.g., EBSCO eBooks).
Log in using your
full myClackamas email address and password. Select
Submit. Success! You will have immediate access the database you selected.
Trouble logging in? Call 503-594-6323 or 503-594-6042 for help.
Search strategy overview - databases
Use these tips
when you search in CCC Library databases. Your search results will be more focused and relevant to your topic!
quotation marks around phrases and search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
different search boxes for each different idea that makes up your overall topic.
Too Many Results?
Too Few Results?
Add in additional search terms.
Limit to peer-reviewed journals.
Limit by date.
Limit by subject.
Limit to items with full-text availability.
Change the search box dropdown menu to "Abstract" or "Subject."
Verify that you spelled everything correctly.
Erase unnecessary search terms.
Try different search terms.
Use the Boolean operator OR between search terms.
Remove any limits you may have added to an earlier search.
Change the search box dropdown menu to "All Text" or "Entire Document."
Need help with too many or too few results? Call, email, chat with, or stop by and see a librarian!
Google like a librarian
We all use it - now let's learn to use it better! Improving your Googling skills will save you time and make it easier to identify better sources of information. Tips and tricks are explained below.
quotation marks around your search terms to search for the words in the exact order you would like, instead of separately.
intitle: to retrieve webpages with your keywords in the title of the webpage
site:. to retrieve webpages from URLs in the domain (.gov, .edu, .org) you specify.
- (a hyphen or minus sign) in front of words to exclude them from your search results.
OR in between words to have either or both of the words included in your search results. OR must be capitalized. This is a good way to search for synonyms.
In the above example, Google will find results that include (election AND fraud) and (voter AND fraud).
filetype: to retrieve specific types of files (instead of html webpages). Works for finding most file types.
several strategies at once for very specific results.
CCC Library recommends using support material created by the database vendors (primarily EBSCO and Gale). It's the most up-to-date. Support material for each database is listed under its description on our
page. A-Z Databases
Guides listed below were created specifically for CCC classes. Give us a holler if you'd like something like this for your students.
Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042 | firstname.lastname@example.org | Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours | Moodle | myClackamas | FAQ
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email email@example.com