Skip to Main Content

Textbook Affordability and Open Educational Resources (OER)

This guide is an introduction to Open Educational Resources (OER) and efforts to lower student textbook and course material costs at CCC.

Course Reserves - Online Options

CCC Library can help you provide your students with Course Reserves material electronically.


Are your course textbooks typically accessible through CCC Library's Course Reserves? If yes, let's make it happen electronically, too.

Fill out our eReserves Request Form to request CCC Library scan chapters from your course's required and recommended textbooks and course materials. You can then upload the material to your password-protected Moodle classroom for students to access. Attached to each scan will be a copyright statement explaining fair use of the material.

This is a free service. The chapter(s) will be delivered to you electronically. Response time in 3-5 days.

Why put items on Course Reserves?

CCC faculty members are expected to "place one copy of all required and recommended texts on reserve in the library or the department office, consistent with Clackamas Community College copyright policies" (ISP170P). If your course texts are not on Course Reserve, email derek.cloo@clackamas.edu

CCC Library's most frequently checked-out resources are Course Reserves material. Providing your textbook or class materials saves students money and helps students who:

  • have delays in their financial aid disbursement or other financial hardship;
  • would like to work on campus, but left the book at home;
  • can't get the book from the bookstore yet; or
  • are thinking about taking the class, and want to see the material to help them decide.

Students are grateful and excited when they discover that a course textbook or workbook is available. Note that instructors need to provide all course reserves items: CCC Library does not order the textbook for you, it is the instructor's responsibility to provide the library with copies of their required texts.

Find Course Reserves

 

Libraries + Articles - Search for items at CCC Library, Summit Libraries, and ProQuest and Gale databases.

Search for items at CCC Library and Summit Libraries, which can be received in 2-5 days.

Books, eBooks, videos, and other items at CCC Library

Put your course code with a space between the letters and numbers (example: WR 121) in the box above, click "search" to search for your textbook in our Course Reserves collection. Course-specific textbooks and materials that your instructor has added to CCC library's Course Reserves collection for your class.

 

Not finding your textbook in Course Reserves? Email derek.cloo@clackamas.edu

CCC faculty members are expected to "place one copy of all required and recommended texts on reserve in the library or the department office, consistent with Clackamas Community College copyright policies" (ISP170P). If your course texts are not on Course Reserve, feel free to ask your instructors to make them available in CCC Library.

Course Reserves syllabus language

If your textbook is held by the library in our Course Reserves collection, let your students know by including this language in your syllabus! 

While the library is closed due to COVID:

The required text for this class, INSERT TITLE HERE, is in the Course Reserves collection at CCC library. The CCC library Course Reserves collection provides students with free access to textbooks and other course materials. Students may request a scanned copy of a textbook chapter while the library is offering remote services. To learn more about Course Reserves, visit https://libguides.clackamas.edu/about/coursereserves and click “Request one textbook chapter (CCC Library)” to submit a request for a scanned chapter. 

Note: not all classes will have their textbook on reserve at the library. Visit https://libguides.clackamas.edu/about/coursereserves to learn how to search in the Course Reserves collection.

 

When the library reopens:

The required text for this class, INSERT TITLE HERE, is in the Course Reserves collection at CCC library. The CCC library Course Reserves collection provides students with free access to textbooks and other course materials. Students may visit the library and check out the required text for this class for INSERT LOAN TIME LIMIT HERE. Course Reserves materials have a time limit to ensure that all students have a chance to access their course materials. CCC Library has two high-speed scanners available for student use. To learn more about Course Reserves, visit https://libguides.clackamas.edu/about/coursereserves

Note: not all classes will have their textbook on reserve at the library. Visit https://libguides.clackamas.edu/about/coursereserves to learn how to search in the Course Reserves collection.

Clackamas Community College Library - 19600 Molalla Avenue, Oregon City, Oregon 97045
Reference: 503-594-6042     |     reference@clackamas.edu     |     Circulation: 503-594-6323
Library Hours     |     Moodle     |     myClackamas     |     FAQ
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Link broken? Information need updating? Have website feedback? Please email reference@clackamas.edu