Research Guides: Electronic Resources: Get the News!

Access the New York Times!

CCC has a subscription to New York Times! CCC students, faculty, and staff can sign up for a free account to stay on top of the latest news or go through the historic archives.

New York Times newspaper This link opens in a new window
Find breaking news, multimedia, reviews and editorials on national and international business, sports, movies, travel, books, jobs, education, real estate, and more. Access historical New York Times content using the TimesMachine. Includes access to Cooking, Wirecutter, and The Learning Network. Requires a user account tied to your CCC email address.
**First time users: Sign up for a free account to access the New York Times

Local newspapers

The Clackamas Print
The Clackamas Print is the independent, award-winning student newspaper for Clackamas Community College in Oregon City, Oregon. Access online archives back to 2014

Clackamas Print Digital Archive (1976-2019) This link opens in a new window
Digitized back issues of The Clackamas Print, CCC's very own news publication. Date range is The Clackamas Print: 1989-2019, The Print: 1977-1989, and The Cougar Print: 1976-1977.
Link above goes to The Clackamas Print archive. The Cougar Print can be accessed https://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/lccn/2020260109/ and The Print can be accessed https://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/lccn/2020260108/
The Oregonian This link opens in a new window
Explore Oregon history through local news, events and people with The Oregonian collection from NewsBank. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Access: 1987 - present.
How to search The Oregonian
Clackamas Review This link opens in a new window
Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Clackamas Review via the NewsBank interface. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Access from 2006 - present.
How to search the Clackamas Review

Other news databases

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as business, health, criminal justice, science, humanities, political science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources, including Clackamas Review and the Oregonian. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
How to search NewsBank
Black Life in America (from NewsBank)
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Presents a broad sweep of African American history in ways no textbook or other online resource can match. Coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day.
Hispanic Life in America (from NewsBank)
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Sourced from more than 17,000 global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications, dating from 1704 to today.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source includes news articles from 300 regional U.S. newspapers, 40 international newspapers, and U.S. and international newswires.
How to search Newspaper Source
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand contains both current events and archived historical journalism. Search over 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading international titles. It does not include The Oregonian - for access to the Oregonian please see a librarian.
How to search News (Gale OneFile)
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Designed for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, LegalTrac covers major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Its coverage is extremely wide and ranges from 1980 to the present.
How to search LegalTrac

Historic Oregon Newspapers (Oregon Digital)
Search and read historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains over 1,300,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2019 and is free for anyone to use.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle (CHE) is a top destination for news and jobs for people in higher education and features unlimited access to news, advice, and data; an archive of previously published content back to 1989; discussion forums; and a job board and salary comparison data. Requires a user account tied to your CCC email address.
**First time users: Sign up for a free account to access the Chronicle