Research Guides: Tutorials A-Z: Identify a researchable topic

Identify a researchable topic

As they begin a new research project, students should be able to:

recognize steps of the research process
browse for topics
develop initial research questions appropriate to the scope of the assignment
perform exploratory background research

Get started with research by understanding it is an iterative process, and identifying interesting topics.

Format	Title
	The Research Process Choosing a good research topic
	Choose a topic
	Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
	Infographic: "The research process."

Tutorial	Outcomes	Additional Information
The Research Process (4m37s)	Understand how research is an iterative process Recognize the steps of an iterative research process	URL: https://youtu.be/qej-GWCz9Ws?si=dvj3e6voBAKYbCfx Content updated June 2016 Internal note: Update priority- not WCAG compliant.
Choosing a good research topic (4m28s)	Describe what makes a "good" research topic Identify what you need to know about your topic Perform exploratory research to identify a good topic	URL: https://youtu.be/CEQBiB1i5bg?si=B7SAE2JiTEfL3Iq7 Content updated Feb. 2018 Internal note: Update priority- not WCAG compliant

Choose a topic
Tips for brainstorming and browsing for research topics that are interesting to you.
https://libguides.clackamas.edu/research-help/topic

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Begin your research on hot topics and current events here. Opposing Viewpoints (OV) offers "viewpoint articles" and opinion pieces that provide multiple perspectives on issues. Additional coverage includes magazine, newspaper, and academic journal articles.
CQ Researcher (CQ Press)
A great place to begin research on contemporary topics. Reports are written by journalists and fact checked. They include a topic overview and background, current situations, pro and con viewpoints, images, and timelines.

Recommended in-Moodle citation: CCC Library. "The research process."

Format	Title
	Develop a research question Develop PICO(T) clinical questions
	Research question template worksheet - coming soon

Develop a research question
A research question focuses on what you want to learn about regarding your topic.
https://libguides.clackamas.edu/research-help/thesis
Develop PICO(T) clinical questions
PICO(T) is a mnemonic tool used in evidence-based practice (EBP) to help you clarify your clinical question.
https://libguides.clackamas.edu/nrs/picot

Format	Title
	Coming soon.
	eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)

eBooks and Encyclopedias (Gale)
Contains full text online reference books on the subjects of art, business, education, environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. This alternative to Wikipedia is a great place to start your research.